Ratings based on 1,546 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Holiday turned nightmare, courtesy BCN Gran Ronda

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Booked only for its location.
Cons: Client approach. Geniune clients need to be treated well.
Location: Near La Rambla area. Best in city
I booked this hotel 3+ months ago and hotel charged my card to verify my authenticity. I had chosen a pay at hotel option during booking. Subsequently a few days before travel, I lost my wallet and a new card was issued by the bank. The hotel arbitrarily tried to charge my card 2 days before my arrival and since old card was blocked it got returned. Rather than call me hotel sent an email and since I was already on holiday, I did not check my email and the hotel did not even bother making a phone call before cancelling my geniune booking leaving me completely high and dry in a completely new city. Most frustrating and ingeniune approach. Ended up booking another hotel at 70% higher cost, spend EU 250 in commuting as well as additional 2+ hours each day! Holiday turned to nightmare.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room without outside windows to avoid

Posted Apr 1, 2017
I am a regular traveller to Barcelona and was quite disappointed with this hotel even though I paid a steep rate. There is no natural light in the room. I couldn't also get fresh air in the room because the only window I had, faced the hotel lobby. And of course it is too noisy. If you are offering a poor experience then don't charge high prices for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

within walking distance to the rambla.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet room. Walking distance to everything. Nice staff. Very clean.
Cons: I can't think of anything that can be improved. It is a nice hotel.
Location: Lot of places to eat. In fact, so much diversity, that is hard to choose from. Must try the Moritz brewery at the corner, it is a real nice.
No frills, great people at the counter. Very agreeable and always smiling. Needed a taxi at 3:00a.m. to catch an early flight... No problem, they got me one. Clean room, nice amenities. Highly recommended. Plenty of tourist information at hand.
5 out of 5
by Riina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lydia L Yee

Great stay at Barcelona

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is excellent helpful and friendly, especially the front desk staff David.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel location!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The hotel was at a great location. It's near the metro station (universitat)... it is surrounded by great tapas bar and little stores, including a starbucks! Overall a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, simple service, place was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff and modern look but smells werid

Posted Jan 13, 2017
The hotel was wonderful but there was no ventilation and it smelled bad every time we went into the room. Other than that, very friendly staff and clean with an excellent location.
5 out of 5
by Jason

Closed to all Historical places

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Barcelona is an amazing and beautiful place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Cheap and great hotel close in an ideal location.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and decent sized. The view is beautiful as it overlooks the main street.
Cons: Check-in time is later than ideal (2pm). Elevators are a little cramped.
The most impressive thing about this hotel was its location. It's right in the middle on shops, restaurants and cafes, making it extremely convenient to get around. The room itself was great for the price. I paid a bit over $50 for a double bed, a decent sized room and a spacious bathroom. The view was also beautiful. The only complaint would be the shower; the room did not have a bathtub and the shower was an open concept. However, it did the job fine. Would 100 percent stay here again and recommend to a friend.