Ratings based on 1,231 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Extremely modern with nice touches of luxury. Would recommend. Beautiful city. Just be aware of knife crime and pick pocketing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests’ overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Mercedes García, Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Rooms are just as they are in pictures

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Thought the hotel appears to be doing some renovations, it was nice, clean and I believe was in a great location to shopping, dining and transportation. Only a few short blocks from metro and a bust stop across the street. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Helpful Staff, great location and good value

Posted May 31, 2017
We found the staff to be extremely helpful checking us in, telling us about facilities around the hotel. The hotel was siutated in a safe, convenient area..busy but not crazy biusy, .easy to reach the sites via metro and easy walking distance to La Pedrera. The hotel even had a pool in the middle of Barcelona which was a bonus we didn't expect. Room, bed, bathroom were all very nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Balmes hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests’ overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 30, 2017
Lovely hotel. Clean and comfortable and in a great location. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Had a single room which was more than adequate. Free bottle of water in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted May 29, 2017
The location is amazing, the hotel is great and the staff are brilliant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Balmes. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Thank you for referencing so many of our team members and for the location, we are delighted to know you enjoyed the area.Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrible Experience at this Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
My husband and I arrived at the hotel around 8am after a red-eye flight. At that time, I learned that I accidentally booked a room with a single bed rather than a double bed for 5 nights. The front desk was unsympathetic to my situation and informed me that they were fully booked and their sister hotels were also fully booked. I went on their website and saw that they had at least five rooms available, which I pointed out to them. Eventually, they agreed to let us sleep in the single bed on the first night. They wouldn't provide a roll-away bed or extra blankets. After much back and forth, they finally agreed to move us on the second night to a room with a double bed at $50 EURO extra per night. I asked them for a breakdown for price per night on an invoice. They would not provide one. After leaving feedback with the hotel, I got an email from the Rooms Division Director which confirmed that the hotel was "ALMOST" fully booked meaning they had rooms available but didn't want to give them to us. They didn't apologize for my bad experience and once again wouldn't give us an invoice. As the other reviewers mentioned, there is very loud construction in this hotel. The morning that we were going to check out, we woke up to very loud drill right into the wall of our room. We were very glad to be done with them. This hotel is really nothing special - very minimal with poor lighting/space. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Balmes Hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Regarding the invoice, we apologize if you haven’t receive one yet but as I explained yesterday, you reserve a room though Expedia which was already prepaid, therefore, Expedia has to provide you with an invoice and not the hotel. In any case, we are sure they will send it to you shortly since we already email them regarding this matter. As per the size of the rooms we regret your disappointment however we would like to point out that we have different room categories at disposal and all accommodations are thoroughly described on our website. You reserved a single room and that day we were fully booked and ,we do not provide rollaway beds since there is no space to fit it in a single room. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation the following day. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a personalized booking guidance through our front desk agents, to make sure you make a reservation for the accommodation that best meets your needs and wishes. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in Eixample

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Wonderful African art. Location.
Cons: Noise levels: plumbing from neighbouring rooms, early arrival of cleaners, heavy doors slamming during night.
Location: Near Passeig de Gracia. Recommend Acces restaurant and Catalana tapas bar. Plenty of cafes nearby for breakfast.
Booked for a few nights' stay. Easy to access on foot from Placa de Catalunya, having booked somewhere away from the centre. Staff were welcoming. A few parts of the lobby seemed to need a lick of paint. Courtyard has seating and a pool (unheated), as well as a tiny gym. We appreciated the nice toiletries, robes and slippers, as well as the nightly chocolate on the pillow. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of pillows. Would consider returning, although not as quiet as we'd hoped.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. On the other hand we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were very nice and most helpful. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

City hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Lovely hotel in a central location. Bright and clean room, very nicely decorated. Comfortable beds, beautiful big bathroom with bath and shower plus complimentary shower gel etc. Staff were excellent. Couldn't do enough for us. Welcoming and friendly. Hotel is situated in a nice area, short walk to cafés, restaurants and shops. We will definitely be back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia , Hotel Management
Dear guest, We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Balmes hotel with us and Expedia readers. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests’ overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mercedes García Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great location - close to all major sights

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfortable bed
Location: Good tapas bar, close to shopping area
Staffs are helpful and lovely. Room are a little small but comfortable. Located on a quiet street, with good tapas bar close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Balmes hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are also glad that you enjoyed our location which is indeed walking distance from the main attractions in town. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carnoustie

Modern hotel in good location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We recently stayed in the Balmes for 5 nights throughout April 2017. We were pleasantly greeted by staff who were more than welcoming and assisted us in taking luggage to the room. The room was modern and bright and had two glass featured pieces of African art... very cool! Bathroom is of a good size and had nice touches I.e. A red rose, various small lotions, slippers and robes, etc. Our only slight issue was that noise from neighbours and surrounding apartments carries through the walls. Doors slamming and conversations in the hallway led to disrupted sleep and general annoyance. There also seemed to be work going on nearby so there was a continued hammering and drilling as of 8am on most days. The location of the hotel was ideal for walking to all the nearby attractions and a personalised map displaying the hotel location came in particularly handy. This along with the very helpful staff made navigation around Barcelona very easy! Overall, we had a lovely stay and thourougjly enjoyed the sights of Barcelona. We hope to return one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director