Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location close to major attractions including great restaurants around this area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Great Place!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great location, well priced, nice clean modern room, very kind and friendly staff. I will stay here again and recommend it to friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Good location and fantastic staff.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel is located a short walk away from the busy area's but is still close to some lovely small bars and restaurants. The staff were fantastic.
Cons: The only thing that I would have liked was coffee making facilities in the room.
We had a great stay and could recommend the city tour buses, at 30 euro each for one day it may sound expensive but its only 40 euro for two days and this does give you great access to some of the slightly out of town sites such as Parc Guell. It also lets you hop on and off as many times you want in a day. There are also a lots of cheap places to eat including Carrefors supermaket located half way down LaRambla......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crawley

Brilliant Hotel amazing staff

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: location friendly staff
Location: location was spot on 20 walk to the marina 10mins walk and your right in the heart of all the bars an food places.
When we arrived at the hotel the staff were there awaiting to take are bags to our rooms, very friendly staff amazing room very clean. would defiantly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Fernando Hernandéz, Hotel Management
Dear Ted, thank you very much for your positive review! We try to do our best to make our guests feel special. We look forward to welcoming you again at Balmes Hotel 4*. Warm regards. Fernando Hernández Hotel Balmes 4*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newtown, Estados Unidos de América

Great central location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Lovely hotel . Very comfortable accommodations and very nice breakfast . Would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Fernando Hernández , Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you had a great time at Balmes Hotel 4*. We look forward to welcoming you again! Warm regards. Fernando Hernández Hotel Balmes 4*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean,comfortable hotel in safe,wonderful area

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Everything,
Cons: Coffee and tea in room,but...there are plenty cafes that serve delicious expressos and buttery croissants all around.And room service.
Location: Safe and lively.La Pedrera,Casa Batilo,,2 blocks away
Lovely hotel nicely decorated,extremely clean,friendly,multilingual staff.There is a little cafe in the hotel ,that serves breakfast and lunch; we only had coffee there.we did not use room service.We had a small refrigerator in room,no coffee or tea.Our window could be opened and looked on the small court yard, not much view but pleasing area with a tree as view,it was very quiet..The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes,24 hour limited grocery stores.,around the corner.There are 2 bus stops a few steps away ,with 2 or 3 different buses to go anywhere you want.Pass.Gracia and Diagonal metro stations are within 10-15 minutes walk.Taxi stop is 2 minutes away.Excellent hotel, clean,affordable,in very safe busy area of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California, USA

Friendly staff, but not comfortable for family

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bathroom! Noise reduction. Bedding! Where was that in-room kitchen shown in pictures??!! And, comfort level as one sees in the pictures in Orbitz.
Location: The hotel is a block from Rambla, making it very easy to access the main street.
Bathroom door did not have a lock! The fan did not work in the bathroom so it stinked all the time. We had to use an air freshener spray in the bathroom all the time. The room was not comfortable for our family (me, my wife and 2 kids - 9 and 13 years old), although it was a duplex family room. We did not like the duplex because of the stairs, and it was NEVER mentioned to us prior to arrival. All pictures in Orbitz showed a nice one-level, 1-bedroom apartment. I do not consider a room on the top of another room an "apartment"! There was NO in-room kitchen, although shown in Orbitz! The beds were not comfortable (cheap spring type beds), and the sofabed was very small and very uncomfortable for 2 persons. There was no mattress so we asked for extra blankets to put under us. The sofa bed was the spring type and made a lot of noise. The hotel would charge 17 euros for breakfast per person. I found it very expensive for what we'd get as breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor near the backyard, so there was a lot of noise coming through the thin walls, either people rolling their suitcases or people just talking in the hallways. It was almost impossible to sleep after 8-9 in the morning. On morning, the police came in the hotel lobby, near our room, questioning a person for over 2 hours. It was terrible as they talked loudly right behind our door. At least, I would expect the hotel staff to ask the police to go outside of the hotel! No, not a chance. Not a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Location. Friendly staff.
Location: Within walking distance of all the main sights. We only needed transport to Parc Guell!
Great location, very quiet and comfortable. Staff were attentive and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warwickshire, England

Accommodation

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The entrance was very impressive, beautiful decor and and had a warm welcome on arrival.
Cons: The gym and swimming pool were too small.
Location: Public transport was very good, so visiting tourists attractions and Barcelona Beach was very convenient.
I had to walk from lounge to bedroom using unsafe stairs. Although I was the sole guest in the room(s), space was limited. The accommodation was cold on arrival and the staff switched off the air conditioning for me. I asked for some temporary heating but request was refused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

Few days in Barcelona

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Probably bit too far away as far as walking is concerned from the interesting areas. looked nearer on the map.
Only using hotel for a bed., Had one breakfast but thought quality was poor. Limited breakfast buffet, cooked breakfast to order but only mediocre. Hotel is clean and smart, but good few blocks from Placa de Catalunya where the better stuff starts.