Ratings based on 3,266 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A very good hotel !!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The roof terrace is a great idea also having the gym downstairs is a big plus as well. Staff for me were excellent and couldn't do enough.
Cons: So things just seem over priced so if you stayed for 7 days then the hotel can become extremely expensive.
Location: The hotel itself is near where you need to be, But after dark the area around the hotel can become very dangerous and not suitable for families.
I found the hotel staff extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Also the breakfast was very good although expensive as It wasn't included in the price, The rooms lacked privacy as it was very open planned but the bed was amazing very comfortable and super big .The cost of drinks at the hotel were expensive I thought .Overall I liked the hotel and would stay again if I could get a deal that included breakfast at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Raval hotel for your holidays in Barcelona, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. Please rest assured we have taken good note of your remarks related to the bar and restaurant prices and sincerely regret your dissatisfaction, mostly because we always strive to give the best value to our guests studying the prices in accordance with hotels of the same category in our area. We would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Moreover, we also thank you for your kind words about our breakfast, the gym and the roof top. Thank you again for this heart-warming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire, UK

Boutique hotel close to centre

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Quirky, chic and interesting hotel. Fab roof top bar. Rooms great. Deluxe room if you want high view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Firstly, we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Raval hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, with roof top 360 bar and with design of the hotel. Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with contemporary feel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Great view over the city, interesting design, and convenient location.
Cons: Breakfast needs an upgrade and some rooms definitely need a retouch. It would be very helpful if staff could speak English.
This hotel can offer pleasant accommodation, if you book a room at a high floor. Location is very convenient however the nearby roads towards La Rambla have a dodgy feel - avoid if possible. The rooms have a contemporary feel and its unique design offers wide views to the city. Breakfast is basic and the rooftop bar is nice weather allowed. Communication with staff can be challenging -some did not even speak basic English. We had some minor inconveniences (facilities in the room not working etc) that were taken care of eventually. Lower floors can be noisy and smelly. Rooms may need a retouch soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Li, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Raval. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We regret any inconvenient you could have with your room during your stay. We have a strict control of the conditions of our rooms, anyway, our maintenance team will revise the room where you were to check everything. Concerning the breakfast, although the variety of products we offer we are always improving, so I will share your comment with the Chef, look for new products to introduce and please feel free to con us to specify if there is any product you would like to found. On the other hand, we are happy to see that you enjoy the view from our hotel, de modern design and furniture and that our central location helps you to find and know all the city. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Modern hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to La Rambla and some good little cafes and patisseries nearby. Great roof terrace at the hotel with 360 views and a bar
From the moment you walk in it's great! Staff very helpful and the rooms are very clean and modern. Great shower and everything you could need in a room including sockets!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lorraine, Firstly, we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Raval hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. we are also very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. And finally, we feel great to see that you enjoy the views from our roof top and that you could appreciate the cosmopolitan and trendy life of Raval. Thank you again for this heart-warming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The staff are really friendly, and the hotel is well looked after and clean.
Location: The location is good for visiting all the sights, nou camp and the beach. It's a shame that the area outside the hotel has an edgy feel to it.
Good hotel and friendly staff. I had emailed the hotel to ask for help booking a Barcelona match, I received a quick reply which included a link for booking (thank you Simone). Only downside is the vicinity, as described in previous reviews.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you very much for your visit to the Barceló Raval and for share your opinion with us and other users. Raval is a very special neighbourhood. It is at the city centre, is the most multicultural, alternative, cosmopolitan and trendy of the neighbourhood hoods. It is full of life all around, and it need to be looked for different point of view. I am truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regard to hospitality and service delivered and will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned. we are very pleased to read that you did like the hotel and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Moreover, we appreciate that the hotel location, at the city centre, helped you to visit all the city sights. Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

GOOD CITY HOTEL

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: In the centre of the city and close to Metro links that took you to where you needed to go.
Cons: Nothing that I could see - they need to keep up the good work.
Location: The area around the square is not the best. Carrer Hospital was scruffy and Carrer Pau was a haven for street girls. A heavy police presence!
This is a good hotel in an area which is quite run down. The staff did their best at all times to make sure you were comfortable and knew where you were going. Breakfast service was quick and efficient - the staff were polite and cheery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jezzer, Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Raval hotel for your holidays in Barcelona and for this kind review and words about your stay with us. The Raval is a hold neighbourhood of the centre of Barcelona, however is changing for some time. It becomes a full of life area, so multicultural and the trendiest of Barcelona. So, it needs to be understood like that, an unusual, different and unique neighbourhood. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Furthermore, we are happy to know that you find our location fantastic to visit all city due to the central location and fantastic communications. Thank you again for this kind review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Just off the beaten path

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was in an almost ideal location. Walking distance to the main attractions whilst being in a reasonably quiet neighbourhood with loads of amenities. The cafes bars and restaurants were stylish ans inexpensive with great food and a nice mix of locals and visitors. The hotel is quite modern and very comfortable. Although we did not avail ourselves of the restaurant or other services we did enjoy the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gregorio, Thank you very much for your visit to the Barceló Raval and for share this review with us and other members of the community. We are happy to know that you enjoy the hotel, from the design to the comfort, and you could enjoy and appreciate the life of Barceló and Raval. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you again, when you cannot lose to try our contemporary restaurant and bar. Kind regards, Jacobo Alvarez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Good central location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Friendly staff, great views and fantastic weather ideal for sightseeing or just watching the world go round
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Raval hotel for your holidays in Barcelona and for the review you shared here on Expedia. We are glad and happy seeing you enjoyed your stay at the Raval, mainly, we thank you, for your nice comments about friendliness of the staff, the fantastic views from the hotel and the perfect location to visit the city. Thank you again for this review of your stay with us, we look forward to have opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Fantastic, modern hotel. Near Las Ramblas

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The design, the layout, the location and the bed!
Cons: Cannot find fault with anything
Location: Just off Las Ramblas. Easy walk to placa Catalalunya, 2 Gaudi houses, Port Vell, Barcelona Cathedral. Some fantastic restaurants in Gothic Quarter.
We found the staff to be incredibly helpful and eager to please. They gave excellent advice about local restaurants and the easiest way to get about. The room was on the 9th floor and I highly recommend paying extra for a higher up floor as it could be a bit noisy at night but you couldn't hear anything where we were. The room was a lovely open plan layout with a massive bed that was so comfortable it was difficult to leave it. The food in the restaurant was varied and lovely. It was my birthday while we were there and I came back at night to find a cake with a candle in it and a card from the hotel which was very thoughtful The rooms were spotless and it was lovely to come back after a long day of walking to a tidy, clean and relaxing room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Happy Belated Birthday! Firstly, we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Raval hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Thank you for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, clean, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Top of the game hotel in Barcelona

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Perfect hotel for me and my girlfriend for her 21st birthday, the staff we're really helpful and pleasant, the bed was super comfy which you don't normally get with hotel stays and the rooms were nice to be in, modern with style, would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thankyou barcelo raval !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Arron, First and foremost, for her, Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you for choosing to spend such an important event with us at the Barceló Raval where our goal is to make our home feel like yours and for your recommendation. See that you enjoyed your stay and your recommendation is the best reward for all our team. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Last but not least, we are happy that you enjoyed the views from our hotel and appreciated our location at the Raval. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Kind regards, Jacobo Álvarez General Manager