Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great location in the Gothic Quarter near shopping, restaurants, and many sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, very smart hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location. Presentation. Helpful staff with good restaurant recommendations.
Cons: Cheaper breakfast option.
A very clean and well presented hotel in a great location for exploring the Gothic quarter and with good metro/bus links. Hotel walls were a little thin, but it was a very quiet hotel so this wasn't a problem at night. Breakfast was expensive but we found loads of places nearby to get a cheap breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by MJ, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you very much to choosing our hotel and of course for your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona. Best Regards, Hotel Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
A very pleasant hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms, could not fault our evening meal. Ideal location for first time people going to Barcelona
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by maria jose, Hotel Management
Dear dr4669, Thank you very much to choosing our hotel and of course for your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona. Best Regards, Hotel Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Convenient for all the local attractions

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Excellent hotel. Did not try the swimming pool but it looked very attractive. Breakfast was great, we did not mind paying extra as we felt it was good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by RECEPTION MANAGER, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much to choosing our hotel and of course for your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona. Best Regards, Hotel Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for exploring

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, staff.
Location: Close to the beautiful streets of the Gothic Quarter, plus easy walk to El Born for nighttime cafes and bars.
Really lovely hotel, very friendly staff, but the best bit is the location. Just above the Gothic Quarter, you can stroll around the lovely winding streets in that direction, have shops on your doorstep (but the hotel inside is absolutely quiet). It's a 5 minute walk from where the Aerobus drops/picks up and where the open top bus tours do too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by RECEPTION MANAGER, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank very much for your great review! Best Regards from all the staff, Hotel Catalonia Portal de l' Angel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Hotel with charm. Rooms with terrace overlook pool and garden and offer nice outdoor option and very quiet. Breakfast was amazing in terms of location right in the garden as well as variety. Very friendly and helpful staff. Less than 5 minute walk to Aerobus main stop at Catalunya Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, England.

Good Location and comfortable.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Room sizes, Modern decor, large private terrace, friendly staff, location, Nice small outdoor sitting area with small pool.
Cons: The bar is only open until midnight. We arrived late on a Friday night and were a little disappointed that we couldn't get a nightcap.
Location: Close to shops, restaurants, Cathedral, 15 minutes walk down the Rambles to the Marina/port.
This hotel is a nice size. Boutique like. It's in a great location. The rooms are very nice. We had a terrace room and it was very much appreciated. Having a coffee on the terrace of a morning or afternoon after doing a lot of walking was lovely. The bathroom was big, plenty of vanity space and the shower was good. Mattress and pillows very comfy. Nice grey/silver modern decor. Hotel smells beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Little Jewel in Barcelona

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Wonderful breakfasts! Good staff, modern bathrooms
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing!
Location: Fantastic location, walking distance to most major sites. Steps from La Rambla, Hop on, Hop Off bus.
This is a smashing little hotel. The rooms are modern, attractive and wonderful beds. The bathrooms are large and convenient with a good grade of linens. It is literally steps from La Rambla, Placa Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral and top designer shops. The street is very quiet at night. The staff is professional and accommodating. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location was very convenient for sightseeing. The rooms were comfort and clean. A free daily bottle of water was much appreciated.
Cons: Lobby was HEAVILY scented making it almost unbearable for our party of four to be there for any length of time! Food options were limited. Nice to watch football games in the bar area and to hang out between sight seeing breaks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff who really cared.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service and a lovely room convenient to so much and with great access to the rest by taxi.