Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Disco room good novelty value, for one night only

Posted May 21, 2017
Overall a good experience, comfortable bed, quiet room, outstanding location for El Born & exploring the old town. The shared common area is a great space & works well. The layout of the room was a bit too 'disco' for us, impressive to walk into but lacking the comforts needed for a longer stay. We stayed 3 nights and there isn't a lot of room, no mini fridge, no space to sit other than your bed. The sunken floor is a bit precarious at night & there's no privacy in the bathroom. I'd recommend it for single travellers for 1-2 nights, but not for a couple staying longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Best hotel in Born district

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: decor, privacy, staff friendliness and helpfulness
This hotel is my absolute favorite in Barcelona! So much thought went into the layout and decor of this super hip and modern boutique hotel. If you like upscale decor and service in a comfortable setting near the best food and shopping in all of Barcelona, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Room set up "different"

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here October 2016 with my wife. Great location. The rooms are a little different in style (as noted in other review), which was not my favorite but certainly manageable. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly and overall excellent. If we got a good rate, I would stay here again. Great location, walkable to rapid transit and great places to eat/drink.
5 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Chic hotel right in the Born area!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, bed were great.
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness could be improved.
Location: Born, Ciutadella right next to the hotel.
The staff is very helpful, wifi works well, the rooms are nice with a modern concept and a comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
by Tess

Great place to stay in Barcelona!

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is great! The staff is super helpful and the price is right. It is close to shopping, museums, and good eats. I recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, very friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
El Born is a great location for sight seeing. The hotel was comfortable and we loved it's quirkiness. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We shall certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warmly Welcoming and Quirky Little Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The reception staff are marvellous, very welcoming. Gave us two maps and highlighted interesting locations and streets for us to visit. The room is a little worn, but other than that everything works. Spacious and powerful shower, comfortable bed and quirky design (you can change the colour of the lights). There is a shared common room, rather than personal tea/coffee facilities, with plentiful options and cozy furnishings. The area is a little off the beaten path, but still has lots to explore, many choices for a quick bite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, modern and comfortable. Great location too!

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleased with Chic & Basic Hotel during our first ever trip to Barcelona. The room design is very untraditional. But, that added to its charm. Clean, comfortable and safe. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Wifi worked great! Allowed for early check-in once room was ready. Picasso museum is a couple blocks away. Hoffman pastries even closer. Best croissants in the world! We loved this place.