Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic location.

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Wotif
The location couldn't be better. The hotel is basic but is good value because of its location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location,but terrible condition

Posted Nov 26, 2016
I was traveling with my mom and we ordered a twin room, at first receptionist took us to the other building and showed us a 4sqm room with double bed,then after we asked for a twin beds,we went back and got the same size room,but with 2 beds(but the space between them was about 30cm),we were very tired to complain,but the room looked nothing like on the photos!there was no daylight,dark and dusty place..I've got a severe allergic reaction there (I believe from the dust)..The location is great and staff was nice,but I won't recommend it..
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by CIUDAD CONDAL, Hotel Management
Dear Elena, good day! for what you are saying, I guess you have booked a double economic room. As per clearly indicated in our profile, all double economic rooms have 1 double bed only (no twins). We are in an historical building, so we have entrance for 2 different street numbers, the room you have booked was in 253 entrance (while the main reception is in 255), we show you the room (that oviously is not a 4sqm, but 11sqm), and even you do not have the right for a twin room as per the room you have booked, we try to do our best, as we have availability and we gave you a twin room without an extra charge. We have many years of experience, and although we immediately detect the customers (believe me ... we see it!), Sometimes we are surprised by their lies ... Dust? Allergies ?. We have had clients who have to travel with vital assistance machines for their day to day, and believe me ... no one has claimed anything about problems with the dust. Of course, everyone is free to comment, but ... if you knew the things we see in hotels ....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

How small can a room get?

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent. The staff is pleasant, though without much English.
Cons: The bedspread looked dirty, even if it wasn't. Otherwise, the room was clean.
It was about as small as a room can be. I measured the shower, for example: 2.5 feet in either direction. My room was directly next to the entry desk. So every time somebody came in late and talked to the on-duty staff person, or worse yet, rang the entry bell, I heard it. And then I heard them walk down the long hall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Nice family own hotel, very close to metro and central area, staff very nice even they don't know English. Only complain is you can hear the sound from next door and around your room, can wake you up few times at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

It's not a hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location close to shopping and restaurants.
Location: Location is the only good thing about this place.
We were disappointed with this hotel. It wasn't your idea of a hotel. The called hotel is one floor in an apartment building. You have to drop off your key with the front desk every time you leave the room and they do go to the room after you leave to turn off lights and air condition so when you come back the room is burning up. Not friendly staff. We checked out one day earlier. The only good thing about the building is the location, it's in the middle of shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by Silvia (Bookings Department), Hotel Management
We do not force anybody to leave the key at the reception, and as you will understand, we do have master keys in case is needed. Our location, in our private builing, is perfectly explained in our description, as per many of other Hotels & Hostales (Hostal is not a Hostel!!!) in Spain. About the A/C as explained to you, if your room achieves the degress that you have marked, it will stop automatically. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta

Good location, that is all

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Working A/C, soundproofing, more comfortable furniture, more staff who speak something other than Spanish. Water that is hot all the time too.
Location: The location is great, close to Passieg de Gracia and Diagonal stations on the Metro. There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
Arrived early and left cases until we could return at check in time. When we saw the room it was tiny and so hot as the A/C wasn't working. There was a lot of noise, doors banging, people buzzing the intercom and it was impossible to relax. I went to reception to ask about a refund as I was thinking of moving to another hotel. The guy on reception spoke hardly any English which seems strange for accommodation in this popular city. He got someone to call me who spoke English, she told me we had book an economy room and if we paid more we could upgrade to a superior room. This room was in the apartments next door and was bigger than the first room. When we moved to, it the A/C was working, but not for long, the room became like a sweat box. The water on the first night was cold and you could hear the guests in the next room. We did not sleep properly and we're glad to leave. The only reason for staying here would be the location. This accommodation is not worth 1 star. What a waste of money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by Silvia (Bookings Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Peter, you book a Double Economic room, and you got a double economic room. Then... you wanted to change into a bigger room, and I was myself speaking with you on the phone, as we offer you an upgrade into a Triple room (the only one available at that point). Maybe was not good enough for you, but then you could have book before into our neighbours hotels, 4, 5 stars... maybe those will suit better your needs, for quite a lot more money, as per our location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Safe location, friendly and helpful staff. All round good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! Hope we will see you again in Barcelona!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Sleepless nights

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood, walking distance to a lot of tourist spots and shopping areas.
Cons: Set an automatic air conditioning system, a refrigerator to store bottled water or snacks, drinking glasses and a heating flask or coffee maker.
Location: Hotel is located in L'Eixample by Passeig de Gracia, walking distance to Predrera, casa Mila, Sagrada Familia, Casa Battilo, Plaza de Cataluña and etc
Stayed for three nights last week but did not get a good sleep due to warm room. Air conditioning was limited, it was on at 9pm and turned off at 10pm then on again at 4am off after an hour (day time we were out). Complained about the room being warm and was told to open the window, we tried but it was noisy, warm air and a fruit fly or mosquito got in ( no window screen). One night got to the hotel almost 10pm and the room was hot, I have to call to turn it on and was shut off again after an hour and a half. The hotel is very basic, a bed, a small desk, a small cabinet, a tiny tv screen 12" or 15" in diameter, no access to English channel nor English caption and a bathroom with shower. No refrigerator, no drinking water nor coffee maker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
This is my second time to stay at this hotel so you know I was very satisfied with first stay. The location is excellent as it takes only 5 minutes to both Passeig de Garcia and Diagnol station. Having said that, you can walk to major sightseeing spot such as Sagrada Familia and Rambles. A lot of restaurants are around the area. Staff are lovely and friendly but the staff on duty at check in normally don't speak English. Room is clean as the housekeeper cleans every day even though I put the Do not disturb sign at the door! The downsides are that main A/C switch will be turned off during day time so you have to ask the to put it back on when you come back from outside if you visit Barcelona in summer. The door seems to be thin so the noise from the corridor can be heard when you are in your room. People don't hang around in the corridor so it shouldn't be a major problem unless you are very sensitive about the noise. Guests are well behaved anyway. I stayed single room but once they upgrade me to a double bed. It was comfortable. The single bed doesn't seem like a proper bed (looks like a camp bed?) but the mattress was comfortable enough. I have no problem staying here as it's located in the safe area.