Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient... nice location.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
very close to the central commercial area n ramblas Street... the spa was excellent. would recommend that too everyone. the free Internet service n wireless wifi to use all over the city was s a wonderful idea.. thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of the Claris Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our location in central Barcelona, minutes from the Passeig de Gràcia. Our fantastic Mayan Secret spa is just part of the 5* atmosphere we hope to provide our guests. It is great to hear you made use of your room's Portier Smartphone, which offers unlimited calling and 4G data, as well as hotspot connection to use throughout the city. The team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future. My best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morgantown WV

Close to shopping and Metro

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Two short minute walk to Metro Stations. Great room with a second floor/ loft. Free android phone to use with unlimited call to US and data.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Clément Fabiani, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at the Claris Hotel & Spa 5*GL . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our central location and our complimentary Smartphone "Portier". Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Clément Fabiani Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing boutique hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Claris hotel was simply amazing. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. Everything was perfect! They made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They resolved issues swiftly and offered us nice bottles of cava and wine to make up for things goin wrong. The mobile phone they provided was such a nice touch. Will definitely go back. Absolutely great hotel! And the location was very central.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Clément Fabiani, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Mimi, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent experience at the Claris Hotel & Spa 5*GL; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our complimentary Smartphone "Portier". Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Clément Fabiani Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Not as good as expected or I paid for

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pro: good location. Cons: no fee water nor any coffee making facilities (room 402 please feel free to check). Very noisy room next to a fire escape and where cleaners liked to congregate. Breakfast dull and expensive add on. No attempt to locate us a room for an early check in although we arrived at 11am (onlyflight available), check out was Noonyet we had to wait until 3pm. Will be back to Barcelona but probably not to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Remei Gómez, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Claris Hotel, We appreciate your positive feedback about our 5 star hotel's location at the heart of Barcelona's best attractions such as Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Thank you for your high rating for room cleanliness and hotel condition. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet with your expectation. Complimentary water is supplied in all the rooms on a daily basis. We have Nespresso machines in every room except in the Superior Rooms. We empathise with your comment about the challenge for silence in your room. Should you experience any disturbance please alert our front of house team and they will resolve the situation for you immediately. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. We offer a wide range of dishes; Fresh fruits, cold cuts, cheeses, pastries, cakes, yogurt, salads, cava, hot drinks, egg dishes, pancakes, toasts, bread, muffins. We empathise with your account of your check in. We always make every effort to accommodate early check in requests, but as we were fully booked on that day we were not able to have the room ready before 3pm. We hope that you will give us the chance to offer you a better experience in the future. With very best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Interesting hotel with nice rooms

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Art and artifacts, quality of the rooms, location, service, breakfast.
Cons: Towel hooks near the shower
Location: Nice area. Close to Casa Battlo, restaurants and shopping.
It's a really interesting hotel situated in a good location in Eixample. Lots of art and historical artifacts sprinkled across the hotel, including a dedicated gallery with Meso American artficats. We had booked 2 suites and were upgraded to deluxe suites. It was on two levels with a fancy living room at the top and bedroom below. An unusual arrangement. They also had a free cellphone with wifi hotspot that you could take with you. Very progressive and clever. The breakfast was good and the common areas were comfortable. The staff was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Clément Fabiani, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent experience at the Claris Hotel & Spa 5*GL and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Expedia’s readers . We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort & Design of our hotel and Suites. We are also delighted to read that your enjoyed your complimentary Smartphone "Portier" during your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Clément Fabiani Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Staff!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location in walking distance to most attractions. Newly refurbished to a fairly high degree of luxury. Pricing still in a "reasonable" range.
Very nice people working the desk. We came in early from a cruise ship, and they were very helpful getting us checked in, despite the early hour. When we came back from a full day of touring, our room was ready, and they suggested a great tapas place for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Clément Fabiani, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent experience at the Claris Hotel & Spa 5*GL; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are delighted to read that the team managed to give you the room before the guaranteed check in time. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Clément Fabiani Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs some improvement but staff is fabulous

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel staff is helpful amd friendly. Location of hotel is suberb. Hotel is noisy, bathroom pipes noisy throughout the night and you can hear room above and rooms around. If you are a deep sleeper, then you should be ok! Rooms need updating asap! There is a strong smell of sewage in the bathroom but I believe this is all around Barcelona and not only in the hotel as the city needs to fix its sewage system. Hotel room service menu needs improvement as it is limited but Hamburger was delicious! What makes this hotel work is the staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Unforgettable

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The staff made our first experience in Barcelona one we will never forget.
5 out of 5
by Sung Jae

Excellent location

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
I spent 5 nights with my wife and daughter. It was the best of my vacations. The staff was very professional. The restaurants near by were great. Everything was in walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel if you come to Barcelona.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel! The free hot spot is the best idea.