Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean hostel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
decent location
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANKS A LOT
4 out of 5
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Austin T

one of the friendliest hostals I've been to.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
the room was simple but clean and spacious. we had our own bathroom. the staff was very friendly and the other guests were friendly. It was a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There's a reason it's so cheap...

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Near the downtown, a metro stop, and the airport bus. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Cheap, free internet and tv.
Cons: Even the "private" room barely had privacy. Shower small and didn't work well. Cleaning staff only came for 2 hours in the morning.
Location: Some good restaurants and bars nearby. Convenient stores in the area. Walking distance to the downtown.
Hostal Els Angels served the basic purpose of providing a place to sleep, bathe, and leave your suitcase. So if that's all you want and are looking to save money, it's fine. Great location with metro right outside, and within walking distance to the downtown, although the building itself is a bit sketchy and doesn't seem that secure. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of all I felt mislead about what the establishment was- online, they market themselves as a "budget hotel", so I was thinking along the lines of a motel. But it turned out that it is a tiny, plain, hostel, so please be aware when booking here. We did have a private room with a double bed and bathroom in the room, but I think it was the only one. The bed basically filled the entire room, so it was hard to move around and there was little room for storage. The door was somewhat flimsy and literally opened right onto reception, so we felt like we didn't have much privacy. The shower in the room was arguably the worst part. The stall was barely big enough to stand in, and in the normal movements of taking a shower, I was constantly bumping into the knob, which would radically change the temperature or even turn it off. The detachable shower head was fastened very low, and would barely stay attached to the wall, so it was constantly flopping in the wrong direction and falling off. Hand soap was provided, but not shampoo or shower soap. A sign on the door said we needed to be out of the ro
3 out of 5
by ABDESLAM from Morocco

Clean and centered .

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived late but it was very organised i had the code to get inside the hostel .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful host, good location, room condition is ok

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel location is very good, very close to metro station and main street. Good neighborhood, there are many restaurants and some small supermarkets closeby. The hotel host was very responsive and helpful. We were there for 2 nights and were arranged to get our key to check in at late night after the hotel's working hours. The room is old (kind of rusty), the floor is not very clean and sound isolation is close to zero, you can hear doors of other rooms open and close. Still very acceptable if you only need a place to sleep at night. Definitely not recommended for those who want to spend time in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gaurav from Bangalore, India

Perfect Location & Great Service!

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
This place is in heart of the city. The front desk person Nuria is extremely good. She offers great service very helpful, it is a delight if you are traveler in new land w/ no local language and need some local understanding, including tips etc. Few good things to know: This is walking distance from many tourist attractions and lots of places to eat good food at reasonable rates. This place is walking distance from Plaza Catalonia which is the starting point of all hop-on-off buses. So really a good location. The room we took had private bathroom included. The room was small and had some smell of fungus or unused room when we first entered. After turning on the fan it wasn't there and may be we got used to it. We stayed 2 nights and it was comfortable. We practically just took shower & sleep and were mostly out in the city and came back for sleeping. The beds were comfortable. So for the price we paid it was 10 on 10. There is a small cafe just outside this place for a good breakfast and coffee. If you are reading this probably you care for my advice. So please feel free to take it and stay at this place. Just for reference - keep the money you paid context in your mind and it will be a delight of an experience. If you expect a 5 star hotel, you might be disappointed but if you expect a reasonable hostel for just sleeping over, you'll be delighted with the place for its comfort and location.
5 out of 5
by Michael from EE.UU

Very comfortable, wonderful hosts, great location!

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay! For those looking for a practical location, clean and comfortable living quarters, with helpful people available to assist if necessary, this is a perfect place to stay. My wife and children stayed here for two nights to visit Barcelona, and it worked out perfectly. The metro location is right on the corner, and it is located in a nice location on the Gran Via. You really can't ask for much more. A great stay.
4 out of 5
by Lorena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels