Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

This hotel is a DISASTER

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Located on the Passeig de Gracia near Casa Battlo. Lots of other BETTER hotels are around this area!
Overview: Unbelievably shabby and unclean, noisy (major construction), smelly rooms and showers, lobby reeks of cheap incense that staff sprays liberally, uncomfortable beds, unfriendly and unprofessional staff (managed by inexperienced staff), and ABSOLUTELY NO HOT WATER on last day of stay! (Had 20+ hours of travel after a stone-cold shower at 5AM.) First room: On a work conference call when construction noise started. Called the front desk and was moved. Front staff was neither helpful or friendly. (Was expected to hike up 4 flights of stairs trailing rude male staff who also did not assist with moving luggage (for 2 people). Second room: Room was "quieter" for work calls, but was just as shabby and disgusting as first: Attached are photos of the gap/hole in the shower floor (which was smelly) and the degraded sink base. Toilet backed-up in second room and was told would have to move again (since the hotel apparently does not own a plunger.) AGAIN, I HAD TO DEAL WITH THIS MYSELF! BOTH ROOMS ARE SUPPOSEDLY "SUPERIOR" ROOMS. At my wit's end, complained (to Expedia since the staff are not competent to deal with ANY issues). Was compensated for 1 night's stay and got a fruit plate. After the fiasco on the last day with no hot water, SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR A TOTAL REFUND! No way this is a 4-star hotel! And, as a VIP member, Expedia should rethink representing this hotel. I plan on sharing this review and photos of the poor state of the facilities on other travel sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff but uncomfortable bathroom sinks

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We loved our stay at this hotel since it's located in the heart of the city center. The staff were super nice and friendly and helpful and the room was fabulous with only one exception, the bathroom sinks are extremely uncomfortable and every time we wanted to wash our face or brush our teeth we had to be super careful to not hit our heads to the counter top. The sinks are located really odd and they would not be approved to be made if they were in the US because of safety reason. Other than that issue everything was just perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend break

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Great location close to shopping and restaurants. Clean and modern, a bit quirky. Comfy bed, room was a bit hot
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buyer beware

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Looks sharp in photos, but not entirely functional. About 20% of the rooms don't really have a window. There is a small window near the bed, but it looks out onto an empty space between the crevices of the hotel. No natural light -- it felt like we had booked a room in the basement. There would be no way for anyone to be aware of you, let alone get to you, if there was a fire. (Also, the building did not have fire sprinklers.) While I was at breakfast I heard two other couples complaining about the same thing, and that was just the English-speakers. I got a glimpse at a larger room and it had windows and light, it was beautiful. I never thought I cared about things like windows, but even I found our location in the hotel just awful. Of course, there were no other rooms available when we mentioned this. As was the situation when the others were making there complaints. And, there was a roach that crawled out from under the bed one day. The room also looked pretty, but didn't function. Beautiful sinks and faucets, absolutely no where to put your things (like a toothbrush). Funky lighting in the sink area, but can't see to put on makeup. Cool glass doors to toilet and shower, but they make a loud thud, can scrape your toes, and you have to carefully inch your body around the door to get in the toilet area Breakfast was excellent, staff was helpful and friendly. This is an amazing location for hopping on any subway and getting around. Also, tons of wonderful restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Extremely disappointing, not worth it

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely disappointing experience. Not only the room was dirty, but the hotel service was really poor. Hot water stopped working for a whole evening, there was no toilet available in the reception area the day we arrived, and we had to go to reception to get our cleaning service, as they forgot to bring it to our room, and then again, as they got it wrong the first time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Location

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has great location, just 5 minutes walk from Casa Batllo, 10 minutes walk from Casa Mila, a few blocks away from plaza catalunya. There are lots of dining options and shops around the hotel.
2 out of 5
by ADEL A.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was very bad hotel condition.