Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Very nice hotel conveniently placed

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The location, the bar and the Terrace.
Cons: Coffee facilities in the room could be better.
Location: The beach was a short walk but the shops, the Metro, the Tour Bus and the Cathedral were all very close.
Really nice hotel, easy to find and very conveniently placed for everything we wanted to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar provided the cleanest and cheapest San Miguel of our stay. The restaurant was convenient, with a great breakfast buffet. The room was very good, the only issue was the tea/coffee facility; the coffee maker never managed to provide a hot coffee. However, the complimentary coffee in the Lobby was very good. The terrace was convenient and clean with spectacular views but the Hotel should advise potential customers that the Terrace Bar is closed during winter months. Maybe obvious but quite a disappointment as it was one of the selling points.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Really good hotel in a great location. Rooms are a little on the small side but all the positives of the hotel outweighs this. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to everything great location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Staff were great a great help. The hotel is beautiful and elegant and was more than I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Good location close to the Gothic Quarter.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The lobby bar area and the roof terrace bar.
Cons: Nothing really - The noise from the Metro is what it is!
Location: Great location adjacent to the Metro Jaume 1. Easy walking distance to the Gothic Quarter, Port Vell / Barceloneta and the Picasso Museum.
The hotel is well located immediately adjacent to the Jaume 1 Metro station and in the Gothic Quarter. Very pleasing lobby / bar area. The breakfast is good value if it is included in your room rate. If paid extra the breakfast is expensive and much better value is available at one of the nearby cafes. Alcoholic drinks are reasonably priced - similar to local restaurants. The rooms are quite small but adequate for a one or two night stay. The rooms are kept clean and well serviced. The Metro line passes directly under the hotel which causes some noise and vibration. This will only be a problem if you are a light sleeper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A satisfactory hotel, but the room vibrates

Posted Nov 28, 2016
You pay for a four star, but the room was tiny so small we couldn't open our bag and get out the front door. The bed vibrated due to the subway underneath.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure you dont get room 507

Posted Nov 1, 2016
As a very special treat my daughter and I booked this Hotel , the trip was completely ruined for us by being put in this expensive coat cupboard without a window!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great staff

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The staff at this hotel were excellent - friendly, helpful,always cheerful. Hotel is in a great location, steps from the Cathedral and the Gothic area, plenty of restaurants, bakeries, variety stores. Also close to a Metro stop, and one of the Hop On Hop Off bus stops. As in a lot of European hotels, the room was not large, although the bathroom was a good size. Both clean. We don't drink coffee, so the staff replaced that equipment with an electric kettle, and tea supplies. Rooftop is lovely. Breakfast expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Superb services!!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Daniel & Sandra were godsend after we got the news our 12-day Mediterranean cruise was cancelled last minute (to top it off, we didn't have our luggages!). They made us feel so welcome & did literally everything to help us feel better with our circumstances. They took care of us like family! No joke!! Other staffs there are also just as pleasant and friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Barcelona, we will stay nowhere but here! Highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: El born is the best area to wander through for bars restaurnts and unique shopping.
Reasonable size room. Breakfast was fresh and tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South-Africa

Good value in the heart of Barcelona.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Great support from hotel staff and excellent roof-top bar. Very good breakfast spread.
Cons: No negatives. Room small but adequate. Has everything needed.
Location: Excellent location in the heart - within walking distance of many great sights and museums.