Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location great staff!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Staff were lovely and very friendly. Spoke very good English. It was a bit hard to find at first but once we found it, it was perfect. We got a double room, which was clean and tidy. Fresh towels and bedding. Also a working air conditioning unit. Definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by Petr from Ann Arbor, MI, USA

great stay in a cool neighborhood

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome little spot in the University district of Barcelona. A 30 min walk or less from all major points of interest in the city, and close to a subway stop. The neighborhood has a bunch of cool restaurants, and some nifty shops can be found on the way to la rambla. We got a room with a balcony opening up onto Carre Casanova, which was awesome. The amenities were clean and modern, despite our expectations to the contrary from photos on the booking page. Alex and Jorge were super friendly, and made our arrival and departure a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Barcelona.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by George, Hotel Management
thank for you review, it was a pleasure have you here as a guest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location, but hard to find at first.

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
The stay was pretty good and cheap for the location. It was center of all the attractions. First getting there we found the location but you have to have a key to get in and the call button up doesn't work, we had to wait for someone to come out to get in. The outside and going up to the hostel looks very sketchy, but once inside it is pretty nice. The bathroom was pretty small, but the beds were fine. Overall I recommend this place, very cheap for an amazing location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking your time to value our Hostal, we are small but always looking for our guest to feel welcome. THANK YOU.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will do.

Posted May 19, 2013
Cons: Lack of towels
Sufficient if you are looking for a roof over your head for a few days. 1 towel every 3 days isn't really acceptable though. Make sure to bring your own!
3 out of 5
by cliff from devon

Nice and friendly

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels
Nice friendly staff. Room was ok and the wifi worked well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you
2 out of 5
by Amir

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Claus og Camilla

Loved it!

Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels
The hostal had a very High standard, the staff was so friendly, and it wasn't a problem to walk to many of the beautiful sights of Barcelona. Without adoubt a place we would return to. We simply loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Hotel Advertised - Hostel by actual name - REALLY IT'S JUST A CELL!

Posted Oct 25, 2011
Location: The Beach! Visit the beach bars and try the sangria and tapas!
We knew it was out of town which was not a problem. 20min walk from Las Ramblas and the Gaudi highlights. It took ages to find it as there is only a very small sign identifying the hostel and no reception. Jorge the owner/receptionist took the money before showing us the room. If I'd seen the room before hand I would have left. It was a tiny room that smelt of sewage as the shower drain was blocked, bathroom lights were faulty, the bed uncomfortable, the toilet had skid marks down the pan, the window looked out into a tiny dark court yard that was above a faulty drain and rotten kitchen several floors below, broken sockets in the room, faulty doors that didn't shut properly and there were bogies on the wall right above the pillows! Not that it was a problem or loud enough to disturb us at all, but the location of the hostel is right in the middle of the gay district so be ready to see some sights after dark. The shop windows alone will make the most open minded of people blush! There are few restaurants near although there was a nice looking (but empty) Indian restaurant two doors down. There are no amenities in the room. There is literally, a bed with light bedding, a ramshackled wardrobe with a small fridge inside, TV with sealed bag coving the remote (WTF?!?), a side table and lamp, and two small towels. This hotel - hostel - CELL is awful! There are many better hotels in Barcelona and every time you pass one you will regret your decision to stay in Absolut Hostel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Get more than you pay for

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels
It's an excellent deal for what you pay. Don't expect frilles, but location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you