Ratings based on 2,541 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

absolute must!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We loved everything about this hotel. Gorgeous, comfortable, great staff, central location, relaxing spa, beautiful rooftop pool and bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

This place is amazing!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
From the minute I arrived here my shoulders dropped and I felt relaxed. Stayed in a classic double, it was so comfortable. Chic timeless decor and the most comfortable bed. Spent day one in the spa and cocktails / dinner on the fabulous rooftop. Day two exploring Barcelona, best feeling knowing we were returning to 1898 for a much needed dip in the pool and sun downers with the fabulous views. I would strongly recommend anyone to stay here, it made our weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Hotel 1898 Exceeded all my expectations

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff at this hotel is their biggest asset.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Hotel 1898 was centrally located and close to all the places I wanted to visit. I absolutely loved the area around the Gothic Quarter!
We just came back from a week in Barcelona and stayed at Hotel 1898. Everything about this hotel was exceptional starting with the wonderful and friendly staff. The room was excellent and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The food at the restaurant was outstanding! If I ever go back to Barcelona, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Lovely hotel great location on the Rambla.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very clean, great breakfast, very helpful staff speaking excellent English. Roof top bar and pool for relaxing with views over city. Plenty of taxis or close access to metro. Slight rumbling noise from the metro, but quickly fades into ambient noise. Highly recommended for exploring the city, walking distance to gothic section, cathedral , St Joseph market
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Very nice Hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: whilst only a minor issue which did not impact on overall experience and enjoyment of stay the capet on floor 4 is worn and is close to needing renewa
A very nice hotel with excellant dedicated and helpful staff. Situated in a good location in close walking distance of the metro if required.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

No longer what it once was. VERY Disappointing!!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The staff, the staff and the staff. Front desk staff and bellman were nice during the day. The evening staff and rooftop staff were shockingly rude.
Location: right on Rmblas.
I asked for early check-in, didn't get a reply from hotel. I arrived at 1:30 pm and was asked to wait until 3pm. At 3pm they asked me to wait 15 mins longer until they "inspected the room". I had booked a superior deluxe room and only received a superior room with Balcony; No extra square footage as promised. The lobby bar was infested with fruit flies and many liquor bottles had flies in them. The staff at the front desk were extremely rude one night, so rude that I wrote a letter to the general manager. The security staff are unresponsive and don't say hi. The manager at the rooftop pool was also equally rude when I was brought the wrong drink and he suggested that I still had to pay for it. The rooms were ok and clean and the location was good but don't expect anything else. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I suggest they present themselves as 3.5 star instead of 4 star as they suggest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smart, accessible and well located hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. A centrally located hotel on 'La Rambla' and a few metres to 'Licieu' metro station means you can get around Barcelona easily and our return to the airport was about 40 minutes and less than 10 euros for 2. Hotel is good quality and staff are excellent; lovely touch from reception as they sent up a bottle of Cava to our room on learning it was our silver wedding. Nice restaurant, bar and very nice rooftop bar and sun/pool terrace but breakfast rather expensive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A. Great experience

Posted Jun 2, 2017
A great experience well worth re-visiting and just right for the getaway required
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel, great customer service. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location--Easy walking distance to many sigh

Posted May 31, 2017
The hotel was beautiful--an old historic building on the outside, but the inside is updated in a very sophisticated contemporary design--Room was large and clean--Would definately go back