Ratings based on 2,461 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lonon

Great hotel with attention to detail on la rambla

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We loved this hotel for the interior design, swimming pool and spa and the comfort of the rooms, attention to detail. The location was fab, right on the rambla but felt like a bit of an oasis of calm once inside. Couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

You MUST stay here, perfect hotel for Barcelona!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We had the best time In this hotel. Perfect location In the centre of everything, wonderful helpful staff who couldn't do enough for you, prime facilities such as the heated rooftop oool and gorgeous spa...loved every minute of our stay! thank you 1898 team :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Lovely spa and terrace.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Great base for a weekend. Very welcoming. Friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - loved the dark atmospheric bar

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Beautiful inside and out - rooms, spa and bar area are all clean, well decorated and relaxing... highly recommend.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We would suggest that you 'just walk' everywhere - perfect location to get lost in the side streets of Barcelona where all the best restaurants are!
A hotel that suits the feeling you get in Barcelona! Moody atmospheric feeling that echos the beautiful buildings all around the city. Staff were helpful and the hotel clean and perfectly located for a weekend break. The terrace bar was closed due to the weather, but it looks great and we will have to return just to try it out! Spa is also 'a must', especially if you do plenty of walking to see the sights - a perfect place to relax late in the afternoon. Only pointer I would give is that you need to brush up on your Spanish if not just for breakfast - it was a little funny trying to order cooked food (you don't always get what you ordered!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Excellent

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Best location very clean the service was great and the room was beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Fantastic location on La Rambla

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Impeccable service from all the staff! Front desk staff was very helpful in booking tourist attraction tickets, offering a range of local restaurants as well as organizing the rental of a Harley. Room was lovely, we checked in early and received a complimentary upgrade which had a balcony. The hotel grounds are stunning, rooftop lounge with pool as well as full spa services, a second heated pool with sauna and steam room. Most definitely would stay here again and highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Beautiful hotel, amazing ammenities and very hospitable staff. We could not have enjoyed the hotel more. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Excellent hotel great location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We were given a room with a terrace which greatly improved our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and we were able to walk most places we wanted to go to. Our only complaint is that the lobby and bar areas are so heavily perfumed. My wife has allergies and intolerances for scents and the overly perfumed public areas made it impossible for us to use them. Even I found the smells over-powering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Stayed in some nice hotels in my time....this tops the lot! Fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Excellent hotel in great central location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
With a door opening onto Las Ramblas this has a great location. Rooftop pool is heated with views over city. Spar facilities and comfy lounges. We were upgraded for free and had a complimentary bottle of cava in the room on our 2nd day. Turn down service with chocolates was a nice touch. Free cups of tea late afternoon. Staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant as the menu didn't suit (needed a veggie option) and was rather pricey but so many restaurant just outside the front doors it's didn't matter. Thank you.