Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location, close to sightseeings and beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Cons: having air vents in the shower would be helpful as well as extra towels.
Hotel is located in a walking distance from the beach, la Rambla, plaza Caltalonia and other sightseeings. There are many cafe/tapas places and markets around. We were in the room with a balcony facing the street. The balcony door would not close all the way, so it was a bit noisy, but with the jetlag and all the walking we did, we slept quiet well. The handheld shower would not stay in place, but the main shower worked just fine. The hotel staff was very pleasant, rooms were made every day and we had no issues with personnel/facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesex

Hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Most of all I loved the location of the hotel.
Cons: TV channels; we could only find one English channel BBC world news
Location: Located near the harbour and within walking distance to the beach. Metro station nearby. Lovely cafes a short stroll from the hotel.
We had a room at the back of the hotel which had a view of a brick wall, however I was fine with this as it meant our room was lovely and quiet and I had great sleep at night. The hotel is in a great location near to the harbour, cathedral and close by the metro station. There are supermarkets nearby, plenty of places to eat; all in all an excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

It was great option for the price! Yet...

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Exceptionally beautiful lobby area!
Cons: AC did not seem working properly yet all in all it was great.
Location: Location was PERFECT and a few blocks away from excellent restaurants and bars in the Gothic area : ) and convenient stores.
All was pleasant yet my room had a view of walls and cigarette butts. Practically never opened the curtain for the stay of 5 nights : (
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to las ramlas

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: More comfortable bed better breakfast selection tea and coffee in the room
Location: Was central to most locations
Bed was uncomfortable First room we were in was very noisy 002 next to lift on ground floor after a sleepless night asked to be changed was happily moved to another room on sixth floor which was less noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to lots of activity.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Great and very helpful staff on the desk. Great location, walking distance to Las Ramblas, Gothic Quarter and places whete locals hang out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location has downside

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Not great quality - effective quiet air con / heating, soundproofing /blackout curtains would really help. Food & bar v poor but loads available near
Excellent location in Gothic Quarter (relating just to some older elaborate building architecture here and not a Goth reference to atmosphere or style!), near to everything especially Las Ramblas and the Port. Everything else easily reached via buses, metro or the city tours, Downside is that it is noisy from the busy main street and the hotel claims of soundproofing and blackout curtains weren't at all true in the rooms I was in. There was also a reference to balconies etc on one booking site but I never saw one there. They changed the awful cramped and noisy first room allocated by toilets and reception with the only view being kitchen rubbish, and the only replacement was in an area being refurbished so stank of chemicals. Friendly reception staff did the best for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & clean hotel!

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
This place was perfect! The room was wonderful; the balcony had a perfect Barcelona city view; great location; comfortable; clean; great staff. We LOVED it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great base for sightseeing, food and shopping :)

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, fully recommend. Were helpful with arrangements. Used as a base to see the city - plenty of places locally to explore and enjoy breakfast! We travelled from the airport to Estacio de Franca station 5 mins walk away from the Colonial, so no need to get transfers with taxis etc. If you buy a 10 journey ticket before you board (€9.95) you can use that for the train to the hotel and also the metro. Bargain!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque, n.m.

Excellent over all.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The location was excellent. The front end staff were very helpful.
Cons: We requested a queen size bed but received a room with two twin beds, but we did have a balcony.
Location: We wre pleased with the location because there wre so many places we could walk to.