Ratings based on 6,662 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Nice hotel close to Metro & buses for sightseeing.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The facilities at the hotel were excellent. The restaurant was well run and the food and staff was excellent. Reception staff were very accommodating.
Cons: More English channels on the TV, that's all I can think of. Everything was just right. Our room had a sitting room, bedroom and huge bathroom.
Location: The hotel was near a Metro station which could take you straight to Segrada Familia. It was a short walk from the Port and also Ramblas.
The hotel staff on reception and in the restaurant were very helpful and attentive. Reception helped with Metro and bus information, and got tickets for attractions for us. The roof top swimming pool and solarium would have been used if it hadn't been a slightly chilly March!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, great location.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, well appointed room and good facilities. Nice bar and restaurant.
Location: City Centre a few minutes walk away. Museums, marina, and lots of places to eat all nearby. Convenient for furnicular to Montjuic.
Friendly helpful staff in a comfortable modern hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance of the City Centre, Port and Museums. Next to metro, and furnicular to Montjuic, so convenient for attractions further out. We loved Barcelona!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, easy to get to all the major attractions and airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Excellent hotel, great location. Walking distance to las ramblas, the beach and the gothic quarter. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Lovely hotel, comfortable, good breakfast. Metro lines just outside. Short walk to las Ramblas. Enjoyed the rooftop area for sitting in the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Great hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Excellent, helpful staff. Very clean hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Hotel at excellent location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Excellent location, great breakfast, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to Metro and exploring.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very good recommendations from staff about restaurants in local area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Hotel Barcelona Universal met all our needs.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We stayed a total of 9 days, location was handy, close to Metro, easy access to Port,Taxi stand, just down the street a few steps. The staff were wonderful, answered all our questions helped with directions and made us feel we were important to them. Felt like we were in a part of Barcelona that was a real neighborhood. It was an easy 15 min. walk to the La Rambla and the Gothic quarter, real grocery stores just a few blocks away,clean laundromat close by,lots of options within walking distance for food, pastry, cafe's.Great view of the city from the roof top patio. Overall we felt the previous reviews we had read were correct. Would recommend this Hotel especially based on the quality of the staff,location and cleanliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u.k

Great hotel in heart of city centre.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Stayed here for 3 days and it was a great experience .staff so friendly hotel was superb.