Ratings based on 6,718 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly helpful staff

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Good position very friendly helpful staff.. always pleased to help with restaurant suggestions and bookings.
Excellent staff - great location ten minutes walk from la Rambla and the stunning port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff - Wales

Ideal position for sightseeing etc.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
A great hotel close to the Port and La Rambla. Good amenities and food and drink with a great room and wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of everything.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was quite good and the restaurant had a beer tasting every night that was a fun way to end a day of sightseeing. The room clean and comfortable, but small even by Spanish standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for short break

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Location: .
spent 3 nights here and found it to be a very nice clean and comfortable hotel. The staff are very helpful. Breakfast is indeed very good but we thought 15 euros each quite expensive. The dinner menu is extremely limited, although the food is excellent. Found food a real challenge as it seems to be mainly take away or the pizza/tapas/paella street affairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Choice

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Underground station just outside so very convenient. Probably only a 20 min walk to Ramblas. Very good breakfast buffet. Great majority of staff friendly and helpful. Our room had no traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, fl

Decent hotel, free breakfast, on the edge of town

Posted Apr 20, 2017
My wife and I stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for three nights. We arrived early to check in and even though our room wasn't quite ready, the front desk staff were very helpful in storing our luggage and giving us things to do while we waited. When we arrived back, we were found to have gotten an upgrade for free to a superior room! The room itself was rather large and we loved the wooden floors. The hotel appears to be older, and you can definitely tell its age, but they have a done a good job of keeping it clean. The breakfast included was great and the same restaurant serves lunch and dinner till midnight. We had dinner there one night and it was actually very good! The hotel is definitely on the edge of town, but it was nice because it forced us to walk all around the city and we discovered restaurants we wouldn't have found if we didn't stay outside the city center. Overall, great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NS

Nice hotel. Central with easy access to sites and

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Lovely time and staff was great. Always smiling and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in great location in Barcelona

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The rooftop with a view of Barcelona
Cons: we found the mattress a little hard... but that's our only complaint
Location: Location was fabulous. Close to waterfront, the main sights of Barcelona and la Ramblas. We enjoyed the location's proximity to a metro.
This hotel was lovely, with a wonderful breakfast. It's location perfect, close to La Rambla and waterfront. We enjoyed the features of the hotel including the rooftop terrace, beer tasting and the bar. Everyone was helpful and tried to enhance our stay with helpful comments, attention to detail and great amenities. We will stay here again on our next trip to Barcelona
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel close to the sea and the old city.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Overall very good.
Cons: Keep it warm and friendly.
Location: Good central position for all attractive locations.
Excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Wonderful hotel and great location!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Las Ramblas, Port Barcelona, Mall , Metro is right outside hotel.
Wonderful Hotel! the location is excellent. Walking distance to Las Ramblas and the Port! Our room was large, clean and very comfortable! The Staff were amazing and so helpful! The breakfast is out of this world! Just delicious and so much variety! Would highly recommend this lovely hotel! Stayed here in March 2017.