Ratings based on 6,790 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything near metro station

Posted May 27, 2017
Excellent! It is the 2nd time in Barcelona Universal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Very nice hotel, clean and close to la Rambla and the Port. The metro station is right outside also. Free beer tasting on some nights at the restaurant and a nice rooftop pool just don't expect Olympic size lol. Overall a nice hotel. I would recommend it and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berwick, UK

Excellent hotel in Great location

Posted May 26, 2017
Friendly and welcoming staff in a fabulous location of Barcelona. The Metro stop is immediately outside and so cheap and easy to use. We had a standard room which was still to a fairly high standard, but the view is not very good. If this important to you, you need to spend more money on an upgraded room. The terrace top bar and pool area with stunning views across the whole city was a wonderful bonus. The free beer tasting session at 6 was real fun and a nice touch. This was our 1st time in Barcelona and like many unknowns when booking your hotel you do worry if you have made the right choice or not. All I can say is I definitely did make the right choice. Because of the whole overall experience, I would love to return to Barcelona. If I do, I will definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Intro to Spain

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location, staff , facilities
Location: Access to great tapas, Metro
Stayed here on the first 2 nights of our Spanish vacation. It was across the street from our tapas tour, had a great rooftop, was across from the Metro Station. Staff was very helpful...helped us get Barcelona FC tickets. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, close to tube station.

Posted May 21, 2017
The hotel was well set out especially the rooftop bar and pool. Being right outside the tube station made getting around Barcelona easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel in a great location

Posted May 18, 2017
Great hotel with nice clean rooms and a lovely roof top area for sitting in the sun and having a cocktail. Was 5 min walk from las ramblas, would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nicely and conveniently located hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly. Hotel is clean and accessible.
I highly recommend this hotel. It's strategically located in the city that's close to the metro and the bus. It's a great way to see the city if you get tired of walking around this beautiful city. The hotel is clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is more than ample to start a busy day exploring the city. And I think the price is right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect long weekend hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
great location + easy to get tube, taxi, helpful staff, great terrace bar, decent breakfast (bit costly) overall very very good + good wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent city centre hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Very large triple room for 3 adults. Buffett breakfast was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located
Cons: Hand rails in the shower
I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Barcelona Universal. It is conveniently located. The staff was extremely helpful, especially the young lady whose name I think was Patricia. The staff spoke English. The buffet breakfast was excellent. I would recommend the hotel and I would stay there again if I returned to Barcelona