Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Good Hotel.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: I guess they can do something with the windows to supress a little noice from the outside.
Location: Near to restaurants, multiple points of interest.
Everything was really great with this one, friendly staff, he recommeded a lot of stuff to us and helped out with a little issue we had with the lights. It has a really good location near to Las Ramblas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Nice hotel close to the cathedral

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The streets you pass to go to the hotel are complicated like a maze, dark and narrow, but the location is good considering being close to the attractions of the city. Building is old but renovated. There is a lift/elevator, so no problem to go upper floors. Hotel building door is kept locked at night for safety I guess which creates no problem if you are out at night since there is always someone at the reception to open the door. Hotel staff is very nice, helpful and can speak English. The room walls need cleaning/painting but overall the room is clean. Free wifi quality is very good. There is a safe in the room but there is no fridge or microwave in the room. You also need to get the hair drier from the reception. One last point, the taxi I took to go to the hotel from the train station dropped me at the closest square saying that they are not allowed to go to the hotel street but this is not true since the taxi called for me by the hotel receptionist took me from the hotel entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Amazing location, great staff very basic

Posted Nov 15, 2016
In terms of being around great tapas places and in the heart of the gothic area this is a fantastic place to stay. If you are looking for any kind of luxury in the hotel you won't find it here. But it has a good size bed and washing facilities which was perfect for me and my girlfriend who were out for most of the day. I would stay again. staff were fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Book Here

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New carpet, electrical and a good exterminator
Location: N/A
The room was dirty. When we complained about bed bugs they handed us a can of Bug Spray. The outlet was missing in the bathroom with exposed bare wires. You had to wear shoes or at leas socks because the floors were so dirty. After two nights of complaints and finally got the manager to move us to another hotel that they own that was about 200 yards away. Much cleaner overall and no bugs. I give credit to the manager that he moved us at no cost but very disappointed that it took two days of complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
"-" We got a room on the fourth floor opposite the elevator door, so we could hear every person using it from inside of the room. It was not very clean in some places, but overall was ok, the bad was clean. When we got inside (~about 23:30 in the evening), it felt like somebody just smoked inside of our room. It was not very comfortable to hear all the noises from other rooms next to our. "+" We booked the room late in the evening about 30 minutes before we came in. The reception staff was there and it did not take long to check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good budget hotel, central to Gothic & Ramblas.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
A little difficult to find initially and the taxi driver refused to take me from Plaza Catalonia. I agree with previous reviews about paper thin walls but it really didn't become an issue during my four night stay. I was there Mon - Fri so avoided the weekend madness. I could see where a bunch of out of town drunks in for a fun weekend could become a issue from a noise standpoint. I would stay there again. If a taxi driver tells you he cannot take you there because the hotel is on a closed street (it is basically a pedestrian walkway), just ask them to drop you a block or two from the hotel - which they can do. It will save you meandering through the twisty streets/walkways dragging suitcases.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Well located, but let down by the rooms.

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Only in Barcelona for a few days, and the hotel was ideally located in the Gothic Quarter. The staff were helpful and friendly and check in/out was very easy. Room: Cons: unable to physically lock the door from the inside (the handle doesn't turn from the outside and hence locks) but this was a strange thing to get used to particularly at night. Dark and stuffy- small window that barely opens. Worst thing though was that my room was next to the lift and the walls are so thin, so I could hear all conversations from the floors above and below, the lift every time it moved and just general noise. Pros: bed was fine, powerful shower. Overall, hotel is well located and the staff were nice. However I should have been provided with earplugs! Fine for a few days but I couldn't have stayed any longer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Cute little hotel in central area. Rooms show their age but overall clean. A/C unit was very weak.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but very noisy

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Good location in the gothic quarter. Friendly staff. Good wifi. Small and simple rooms with very thin walls so you can hear everything people in the hallway and rooms next door are doing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tbilisi, Georgia

Hotel location very good but too pricy

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Location very center of the city
Cons: Furniture, amenities
The hotel is located in the center of the city (Gothic area), although it is expensive. Very small room, noisy bathroom, no windows outside. 1.No amenities such as hair dryer; 2. Tap was not working properly; 3. Water pressure was not good. 2.They didn't change towels for 5 nights; 3. At night strange people were roaming in the streets around.