Ratings based on 1,670 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location, the comfort. Everything.
Cons: It may be something about European hotels, but the bathroom was a little more open than we are used to, but the rest of the room makes up for it.
Location: The location is in the heart of the square outside of the historic Catedral de Barcelona. Lots of shops, restaurants and history nearby.
We loved our stay at the Hotel Colon. The beautiful building is in a perfect location directly across from the Catedral de Barcelona, and all of the gothic and historical areas beyond. Lots of wonderful restaurants, shopping, and sites. The hotel staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and inviting. The spa is lovely - I took advantage of a foot massage after a day of sight seeing and it was perfect. Be sure to check out the terrace at sunset - something we discovered too late in our stay to take advantage of for pictures, but the view of the Catedral from the terrace is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Amazing location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Absolutely loved where we were. The hotel is in the middle of renovation so the first floor room we were in was brand new and beautifully appointed with open plan style bathroom. The children (older teenagers)were on a different floor in a more dated but nicely appointed room. I had requested twin beds for them which had not been organised but Reception were able to accommodate us on arrival. I would v much recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: It's location, the spa and helpful friendly staff
Perfect location in the Gothic Quarter with great views from the roof terrace and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesex

Hotel is very central.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The situation, the cleanliness and the welcoming staff
Cons: Softer bed!!
Location: Barcelona is full of wonderful treasures and all are within easy reach using the transport links.
A wonderful hotel set in the square of the Cathedral. Rooms are spacious and well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful. Easy access to transport links. Five minutes from La Rambla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Fast check in, nice decor and warm colours surroundings.
Cons: The heating system is not working well in our room on the first floor. The vent was high up in the ceiling with a tiled floor. It was cold in Jan.
Location: Lots of eateries and shops. Close to some sights.
Very close to the Cathedral and walkable to the old quarter and the La Rambla. Lots of eateries around. Only taxis can drop off at hotel. There is a dining room inside, but a bit pricey. Nice Hotel. Stayed there twice in different rooms. Pretty rooms, but our first room was very cold. The heating was not working properly and the 2nd room was a bit warm and the heating seems not to work either. The 2nd room bed had a dip and was not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Literally at the cathedral

Posted Feb 11, 2017
For an Expedia deal, was amazed. Spacious room with balcony facing cathedral, front door opens on the plaza. Clean, good staff. Stayed 1 night b4 business conference and it was perfectly located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Stunning views

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Fantastic views and great location.
Cons: More powerful hairdryer in the bathroom.
Location: Close to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. We also walked to Gaudi houses and Segrada Familia.
Lovely central hotel. Very clean and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Lovely hotel in the best location , very friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Fabulous location, quiet yet close to everything

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Beautiful hotel with the charm of old European hotels but with all the modern comforts. The staff is friendly, helpful and well informed. Great breakfast buffet with delicious short order omelettes. Bed could use a new mattress but Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent location.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of all areas was excellent.Staff were helpful and friendly.
Cons: The cost of meals was considerably higher than expected.
Ideally located in plaza opposite the Cathedral. A quiet cantral location.