Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Stayed 1 night, quick checkin, nice hotel overall, clean and tidy room. No in-room bar items though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Upon arriving Hotel Gotico informed us that they overbooked, and despite my booking 5 months in advance they were moving me to another hotel in their group. So instead of being on a quiet side street in the Gothic Quarter, we were not in the Gothic Quarter and on a busy street. They said they would call and pay for a taxi, but when we got in the cab...he had no idea of where we were going nor who was paying. If that is your idea of service, by all means stay at Hotel Gotico.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old, small and cramped

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Good area to walk around
Old hotel with staff that did not seem to care much either about their business or their surroundings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is not very far from the public transport and shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: Location is awesome!! Clean hotel Staff is friendly Standard European rooms Cons: Staff is not as bilingual as they advertise and as a result not very helpful Only one working plug in our room An older hotel so walls are paper thin and you can here everything outside and in room next to you Got a pullout bed for third person and it collapsed as soon as they sat on it and squeaked incessantly. Had to stuff blankets underneath it to help with the noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great, comfortable stay!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, comfiness!
Cons: AC makes noise but you can close the door to the hallway from the bedroom and the noise cuts down by half. Still, some people may not enjoy
Location: Location is fantastic, right on the edge of the Barri Gotic, a 10 min walk to the edge of Barceloneta. It's another 10 min to the beach from there.
My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. For the price, it was really great. The room was clean and comfortable. We like the cylindrical hard-ish pillows :) The bed was clean and perfect. Sure, if you paid a whole lot for a 4 star, then you might expect more than what this hotel has to offer. However, we got our three-night stay last minute and it was so cheap that, 4 stars or not, it was freaking awesome. Especially the location. And there is a neat roof top terrace that no one ever used! We didn't eat the breakfast there, though, so I can't comment on the 12 euro continental breakfast. The staff was super nice and friendly, check in, check out was a breeze. There is a safe in the hotel room for 2 euro per day which was very convenient. Oh, one last thing. The air conditioning made a lot of noise in our room. I sleep well with noise, but boy oh boy was the AC noise helpful on the night of Sant Joan festivities when it drowned out the noise of all the fireworks!! :-D
4 out of 5
by John from North Yorkshire

No complaints!

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed a very pleasant week, the hotel is clean and well run, one unexpected electrical fault which left no electricity in our room was immediately dealt with, an electrician was called and it was fixed within the hour. We really enjoyed being in the centre of the fascinating old city which also made a huge number of restaurants accessible within a few minutes walk. The location also allowed very easy access in all directions to other places of interest and attractions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Not deserving of 4* rating

Posted May 5, 2016
An extremely dated hotel, with dark and dingy corridors and no room service, permanently closed bar and no restaurant. Vending machine only after breakfast. No customer service focus. Very poor English spoken by reception staff. Terrible smell in the room from bathroom drains. noisy on the street facing side. Decor unbelievably poor for Barcelona. Have seen many better 3* hotels than this '4*'. Good location for tourist exploits if that's a priority. Room cleaned well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Avoid this hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2015
This hotel was located in an excellent area and close to everything but the staff and cleanliness left us wanting to leave after one night. We found food on the floor of our room. There was lothing that wasn't ours found in our room, but the worst part was how rude the staff were. We were treated so poorly anytime we interacted with any staff member. Upon checkout the staff member barely even looked at us and was one of the rudest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. Avoid this hotel
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Kirkcaldy

Would easily stay again.

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
Room 509 was silent, incredibly quiet considering the hotel location.the bed was very comfortable, and the staff were excellent. I will definitely use this hotel again, a bargain!