Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Roomy apartment, convenient location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Minor touch up needed (base of showers). They were covering the entry and hallways with vinyl and looked like they were doing the whole building.
Location: Restaurants all over the place, Tapas and Paella, pizza, Indian, Turkish, and even a Kosher place. Shops. Short walk to water front.
Were just steps off La Rambla. Lots of shopping, restaurants (& gelato shops). Had wonderful tours to get an overview of city, did some museums on our own and on the last day went to Montserrat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Great location, spacious accommodations

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Making improvements, minor problems quickly addressed. Just off main shopping & dining. Short walk to many points of interest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware – Unscrupulous Management

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
MH Apartments manage several properties in Barcelona. Unfortunately my hotel reservations website booked the wrong location, so I ended up paying for two apartments in different parts of the city. My hotel company were very helpful and asked MH Apartments to cancel one of the bookings, but the Front Office Manager refused and could not have been less cooperative. Clearly I did not require two apartments in different buildings on the same dates: this was obviously a booking error, but the manager appeared determined not to resolve the problem. I must praise my hotel booking company for doing their utmost to reason with the accommodation provider; but having received two payments, the Front Office Manager was perversely unwilling to cancel a reservation and return one of my payments. Finally, I was charged twice. MH Apartments have no staff at their buildings, so it is important to carefully follow the instructions on the booking confirmation to gain access. Check in carried out by a machine, but it doesn’t work. The touch screen is broken and the passport reader is faulty. Fortunately there is a telephone by the check-in machine which connects to 24 hour staff who speak excellent English and offer invaluable assistance when you need it most. The staff are also extremely sympathetic and honest: very different from the Front Office Manager, whose lack of concern for guests is demonstrated in MH Apartment’s responses to its deservedly poor reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfy large apartment

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Largest apartment i stayed in while travelling europe which was refreshing sharing a room with 3 friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent location and price

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Maintenance issues need to be checked
Location: Very convenient to Palau Guell, Port Vell, Las Ramblas and all transport.
The location and prices of the MH Guell apartments were fantastic. There was plenty of space for our family of four. The apartment could use a bit of maintenance - a broken showerhead and leaky kitchen pipes - but it was fine for a few days. We enjoyed the location very much and the area is relatively quiet for being so central but the walls are paper thin and the other guests were loud coming in late at night in the stairwell and in their apartments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pros and cons

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Big room and balcony, good kitchen amenities. It was handy to get a welcome pack with washing up liquid, oil and vinegar. There are super markets and restaurants all around. There is no Wifi, though, and there is no door between the sitting room/kitchen and the second bedroom, so it is not possible to sit up and talk or watch television when the children should sleep. Though it is in a lively area, our apartment was quiet (2nd floor), and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are in need of a makeover (shower broken), some towels have holes. There is no reception, but round-the-clock telephone service. So, all in all, the price/value per person is good for such a central location.
3 out of 5
by Jesper from Carmel, IN, USA

A decent apartment, but pricey

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
It's not really a hotel, so there is no "service", but the "checkin" process was quick. Refrigerator didn't work 100% (never got cold, really), the sleeper sofa was rather uncomfortably soft & seemed a bit damaged and the apartment was a little worn (albeit clean), so I found it a little pricey for the condition, but it was a great location!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Appartment in Barcelona

Posted Oct 1, 2015
First we arrived late the Appartment is in the worst neighborhood no ac dirty beds uncomfortable toilets not working sleep is bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by lidia, Hotel Management
Lamentamos su opinión sobre la zona de Ramblas, no es ni mucho menos la peor zona como comenta, es el centro de Barcelona lugar de gran interés turístico, cultural e histórico. MH Guell apartamento donde usted hizo la reserva cuenta con aire acondicionado en el salón,información ya facilitada con antelación, respecto a las camas han sido recientemente renovadas y con colchones de gran calidad.
3 out of 5
by Donna from geelong

good size room

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
ease of check in was positive. the room was of a good size . 5 of us stayed here and there was plenty of space. especially in the lounge room , which has a double sofa bed. kitchen , washer and dryer was a bonus. 2 bathrooms , great for 5 people. the street was nice during the day , filled with tourist but at night it was very seedy . not a safe area to be in , it was noisy with ladies hopeful of meeting men, outside our door. men selling beer and god only knows what else also occupied the street at night. as long as you are in a group , preferably with men , it is ok. my son and l were frightened at night. the room was secure as was the front entrance, the lift was tiny so be prepared to take the stairs. overall it was a good location and a good room ,great by day, just not a good area at night.
1 out of 5
by Lynette

Staff is the only positive

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful but the room itself was very run down, no hot water, air-conditioning did not work, no wifi, beds uncomfortable. There is also graffiti all over the front door- Not appealing.