Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto/Scottsdale

A Quiet Retreat on the Edge of Everything

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, Service, Price combined to make a really great value
Cons: The restaurant is hidden in a charming vaulted room in the basement which seems to be just for breakfast. The menu said min 40 min wait for dinner.
Location: Gothic Quarter for architecture, food and shopping + Rambla, waterfront, and fun live free music and buskers in the squares.
My husband and I stayed for 4 nights, and we can't wait to return. The Medinaceli is just a block off the intersection of Columus and La Rambla, which means some of the best dining, shopping and sightseeing are just steps away. The staff was friendly and quick to recommend a great restaurant or attraction and the building, itself was an architectural charmer with lots of interesting features to discover. Our room was on the top floor with a view of the square, but from our balcony, we could see the waterfront and Ferris wheel. We even saw fireworks on our last night. I think it was a coincidence, but given the Medinaceli staff's efforts to make sure we were happy, maybe not!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and elegant

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The reception´s people is very gentle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only clean "on the surface"

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
My initial impression of this hotel was good. Great location, friendly staff, and fancy lobby. However, as I stayed in the room, there were small things I noticed about cleanliness and I initially wrote off as my being picky. For instance, shower walls had a bit of soap scum build up that was more noticeable when the steam was on in the shower. However, when I went to bed, the pillow case reeked of perfume from the previous guest. None of the other linens smelled this way, so I know it was not the odor of their laundry detergent. In addition to this all the pillows were hard as rocks and heavy as bricks. This is not a hotel I will return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel close to the water

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Modern hotel near the water and restaurants. Short cab ride from airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami beach

Nice hotel close to La Rambla

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very good location, staff is amazing, will def stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everywhere

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I loved the hotel, it was close to every place I went too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Nice hotel near it all.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Clean and comfy with almost everything you need, if you want to be out and about all day, not sitting at a resort. Friendly staff. Bed was a bit springy, but not too bad. Would recommend to avid sightseers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't really comment on hotel as moved

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Well we arrived at 11pm only to be told that the air con wasn't working and that we had been moved to another hotel. So can't really comment on anything but the receptionist ordered a taxi free of charge to take us to hotel ciutdelli.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff and very clean!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had an awesome experience at the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and perfect size for a triple. The bathroom was large size. We would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel, good location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Loved it, especially with the balcony. It was our first visit to Barcelona and this comfortable hotel, with helpful, friendly staff helped to make it a wonderful experience.