Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dorset uk

Dream hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Words cannot express the delight of this hotel. All the staff especially ilyan were so attentive and the attention to detail was amazing. Nothing was any trouble and the hotel is just so beautiful. I've been to some very nice hotels but nothing like this. Just book and don't hesitate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smart boutique hotel in the Gothic quarter

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Convenient location in one of the quieter areas of the city. The staff were attentive and always on hand and helpful.
Cons: Though much is accessed via the internet nowadays, I would still liked there to be more information - leaflets etc on things to do and see in the city
Location: Las Ramblas, the Cathedral and Museum of Barcelona are literally minutes away. Most attractions are at most a metro/bus/cab journey away.
We stayed at Hotel Mercer for 5 nights. The room overlooked the inner courtyard rather than the street, so it was very quiet indeed - which was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape & California

Rustic and modern hotel in Gothic center

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Staff is friendly and offers impeccable service. Great location in Gothic quarter, wonderful breakfast. Used to be a castle and retains Gothic charm but with very modern touches. Our first floor room opened on an ancient wall which was lovely but too dark. Would ask for room on higher floor, some had balconies which would bring in more light. Overall, great hotel and centrally located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect spot in Barri Gothic

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: We loved the Mercer for its location and staff, and for the fit-out, which is contemporary, yet sympathetic its historical bones.
Cons: We were surprised that the restaurant closes 2 nights a week, rooms on the 1st floor are quite dark and the toilet seats are very uncomfortable.
The Mercer is well located, close to loads of great sights, but in a quiet laneway so you relax as soon as you walk through the front door. The staff are all very friendly and competent, speak a range a different languages and are extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from naples FL

Historical hotel in heart of Gothic District

Posted Oct 10, 2015
We had an amazing time staying at The Mercer and would stay again. Loved quaint shops and cafes just steps away. Roof top terrace had wonderful seating options to take in a variety of old stone rooftop views. 5 star service from concierge and doormen. Celebrated our wedding anniversary and received delicious bottle champagne, Choclate cake and rose petals on our bed. Five stars!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nearly gets there

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location and staff
Cons: See experience
Location: Barcelona is one of the most interesting cities in the world. There isn't space here for that.
This is an excellent boutique hotel in almost every respect but slips up on some of the basics. The hotel is situated in an alley in the Gothic District where taxi drivers generally refuse to go. We had many e-mail exchanges with the hotel who didn't mention this (nor does the website). On arrival we ended up lugging our suitcases up the hill to try and find it. That said, once there, the staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. On two separate occasions the cooked breakfast, after a long wait, was served on cold plates, also cold and seriously undercooked. On our last night (of 3) we thought we'd celebrate after a concert and asked for a bottle of Rioja. Not one to be found in the whole hotel and this in Barcelona! We ended up with a Bordeaux! Overall though - a great stay we both enjoyed very much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: The roof terrace.
Cons: Clean the shower trays under the white slats to keep them to the standard of the rest of the hotel
Location: You are right in the centre, so this is a great hub for exploring Barcelona.
The Mercer hotel is in the ideal central location with easy access to wonderful Barcelona. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely appointed with a clever use of space. The roof terrace is great and very much appreciated in the hot weather as somewhere to relax after a days site seeing. I found the room temperature uncomfortably warm. The controls in the room do not work as I learnt temperature is centrally controlled when I went down to reception in the middle of the night unable to sleep. My room had been set to 23 degrees and I was told the lowest temperature was 19 degrees, not sure why. The temperature was kindly changed and it was an improvement, but it was still a bit too warm for me. I'm not a fan of lumpy mattress enhancers on a perfectly good quality, firm bed, but that's personal preference along with a nice firm pillow rather than the very soft ones provided I marked the room cleanliness down to 3 purely due to the shower. There are white slats in the bottom of the shower and the water gathers up through the gaps, so I looked to see if there was a blockage. I wish I hadn't as I don't think the shower tray underneath in my room has been cleaned very often, if at all - this is something the management really need to address as every other area of the hotel and the rooms are spotless. I do think this is a great hotel in the ideal location, and would highly recommend it as a quality base for exploring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Barcelona

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Everything. But especially the staff.
Location: Walking distance to everything Barcelona has to offer.
The best hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in. Cannot recommend it enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Superb hotel - couldn't fault it.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Everything - we really couldn't have been better looked after.
Cons: Not even the price - we felt it was very reasonable indeed.
Location: We could easily walk to all sorts of local "attractions" - but in case we didn't thee was a Segue tour about 100m away which we took - superb fun.
Superb hotel - extremely comfortable, lovely location, great food and the staff were excellent - friendly, helpful, took care of everything for us. We would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 19, 2015
This is a wonderful boutique hotel. Most impressive is the design aesthetic - the combining of Ancient and ultra modern was exquisitely done! The staff was perfect in every way, and the restaurant was divine. kudos to the chef who has created an engaging cuisine - light and ethereal in almost a Japanese way, yet, original, unique and flavorable.