Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great days in Barcelona

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Extremely happy with my hotel pick for Barcelona. 5min walk from the metro, very comfortable room, great staff. Will certainly stay again at this place when I return to this amazing city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
First class Decor, facilities, staff, room and customer service. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Stayed for a conference at CCIB, was quite a trek (25 minutes) but bearable. Hotel is a bit in the middle of nowhere because also far from the tourist stuff. But there is a taxi rank outside and a tube station just around the corner. The hotel staff were excellent, very polite and friendly. The hotel is very nice/modern with a great rooftop bar. The gym is fairly decent but only a few weights etc. Pool was cold but it was October.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Barbara C - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We appreciate you have had the time to writte us after staying in Novotel Barcelona City. We take into account your comment about our excellent staff and we will share this comment with them. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve in your next visit to Barcelona. With my best regards, Barbara C - Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Hotel with the view

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Our room, the staff, the views
Location: Close to Sagradia Family and the Marina
We stayed here only for 3 nights. We were really pleased with the hotel condition. It was luxury and clean. Our room 100% we loved it. We could see interesting view from our window's room. We had a problem with the safety box soon they fixed it for us. Easy to get public transportations like bus, tram and subway underground. Unfortunately, the shopping center across the hotel hasn't finished build yet. Restaurants and cafes 2 block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal hotel for city break

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are spacious, quiet, clean with a comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool and roof top bar is fantastic with good food. Amazing views from the roof and our room. Could not have asked for more. Will definately stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crap Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Check in system disgraceful. 70% of staff are extremely rude! Key card use for the lift would work great if you didn't spend 5 minutes Everytime you use the lift trying to get your card to swipe. Pool is filthy and has a green Algee (looks like this) around the end needs a good clean. Rooms are very small, and third person sleeping on sofa bed not explained when booking. Safe to say would not return! Pictures or the hotel are deceiving
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Barbara C - Guest experience Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning, We are deeply sorry to know that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Normally our staff receive a lot of compliments, however we have made a work meeting with the whole staff. Always in the booking form appears that the room has a king size bed + sofa bed. All our rooms are identical characteristics. We have checked your comment about the pool with our technical department and I must inform you that it was an isolated case. We hope to have a new opportunity to better serve in your next visit to Barcelona. With my best regards Barbara C - Guest experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooftop pool!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Only let down would be the breakfast, it's certainly nothing amazing but it did the job at least. Not a lot of vegetarian choice and would be nice to have more of a food English pread ie cooked mushrooms and beans, as there is only eggs and lots of meats. But the room and rooftop pool and bar are beautiful! It's a lovely clean hotel and I would definitely recommend the stay. Aprox a 30-40 min walk to the centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Jimena C, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to write us. We take into account your comments about the breakfast, for future changes in the restaurant buffet. We feel happy to know that tou have enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in Novotel Barcelona City, Sincerely, Jimena C Guest Experience Assistant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very nice location. Close to Glories station and supermarket and restaurants.nice swimming pool overlooking the city and close to tore agbar which is nicely lit at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Jimena C, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for share your experience with us. We feel glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you in your next trip to Barcelona! Sincerely, Jimena C Guest Experience Assistant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

One night stay before Cruise

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff, nice pool and food.
Cons: Bathroom needed some maintenance
Stayed with friends at this hotel for one night adn was ideal for our pre-cruise stay. Nice rooftop pool area and with above average food in the pool bar, nice cocktails, live music in the evening. Very nice Junior Suite. Lovely spacious bathroom with double sinks, bath and separate shower. Showever needed a bit of maintenance as the sealants worn and grubby, however, this didn't worry us at all for one night. Overall very nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Jimena C., Hotel Management
Dear Mrs, First of all thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Novotel Barcelona City. About your comments of the bathroom maintenance, let me apologize for the inconvenience, we will contact the Maintenance Department in order to fix it as soon as possible. Thank you again for your time, and for the nice words of our hotel. We are looking for see you soon in Novotel Barcelona City, Best regards, Jimena C Guest Experience Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice Hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice hotel close to everything. Just a minute away for the hop on hop off stop. Not very far from the city. Less than 8€ for a taxi. And 2 mins from the metro and trams. No bell boy services in the hotel. The only negative thing about this hotel is the breakfast. I stayed here for 4 days and bought the breakfast package, breakfast was exactly same every single day. No change in any items all 4 days. But over all a good hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. There were long queues for reception. I would like to mention one thing. I ordered a taxi for 3am for my sister. And informed the receptionist said they would call me as soon as the taxi is here. I waited till 3.15 am but no calls so tried calling the reception. I picked up the phone to call them and saw the phone wasn't working. So went out to the lobby to call the reception. They said they were trying to reach me for the last 20 mins but there was no answer. Boy. Couldn't they have sent someone to my room? I thought they could have done better here.