Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A Barcelona Gem

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel is centrally located yet off the main tourist track. I didn't want to leave the beautiful room and fabulously comfortable bed, even to go explore the sights of the city. Everything was top class, from check-in to check-out. Privacy is paramount and quiet, unassuming luxury is everywhere.
Cons: The elevators were crowded during peak hours, but it is a small consideration.
Location: The hotel is close to Placa Catalunya, Urquinaona Metro stop, Las Ramblas, and the glitzy stores and Gaudi houses of Passeig de Gracia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thüringen

5 Sterne mit Abstrichen

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Erstklassig ist die Lage des Hotels, es liegt zwar an einer Hauptstraße aber die Fenster sind dicht. Unser superior-Zimmer war sehr gut ausgestattet und sauber. Vom Frühstück sollte man die Finger lassen wenn man für 26 Euro mehr erwartet als jeden Tag ( wir waren 7 Tage da) das gleiche kleine Angebot. Die Brötchen waren akzeptabel aber das Brot war immer sehr trocken, Marmeladen und Joghurt gab es nur abgepackt, die 4 Sorten Wurst und 2 Sorten Käse haben nie gewechselt. Die Sauberkeit im Restaurant lies auch zu wünschen übrig, auf den schwarzen Fliesen im Fensterbrett lag eine Menge Staub und tote Kleintiere. Im Treppenhaus gestalten sich die schwarzen Fliesen als echtes Sicherheitsrisiko !!! Außer der letzten Treppe vor der Lobby ist der Boden nicht mal etwas angeleuchtet so dass man sehr genau hinsehen muss um die Treppen zu sehen!! Für das Geld würden wir dieses Hotel nicht wieder buchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location and service

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Concierges were very helpful with recommendations for transportation and restaurants. The rooftop pool / lounge was our favorite spot - great views.
Location: Easy walking in the Barri Gotik and wonderful tapas restaurants in El Born. Don't miss the Palau de la Música Catalana across the street!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in centre

Posted Oct 1, 2016
A fantastic boutique hotel central for shopping, sightseeing and night life. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable and stylish. The best views were from the roof top bar just relaxing by the pool. Tried the cocktail experience which was fun and the bar man Santiago was very knowledgable sharing tips and hints - would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Luxurious central boutique hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful hotel, within walking distance of main bus transport hub (Catalunya Place), the Gothic district and La Rambla. Great customer service (spotted it was wife's birthday and delivered a complimentary bottle of Cava to the room), excellent cocktails, good breakfast and a roof terrace with pool. Made our stay perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel close to all travel options

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, friendly.
Cons: Lighting on the stairs. Dark flooring and walls so more light needed.
Location: Central, very good location for all modes of transport. Walking distance to harbour/beach/restaurants.
Great locality to get to all travel options to view the City. Concierge staff very helpful. Cocktail bar prices quite high. Breakfast buffet good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location but not a 5* hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The staff and customer service which is non-existent.
Location: Near the Gothic Quarter
I have just come back from staying at Hotel Ohla. While the building itself is lovely, and the location is great, I struggle to find more positives to say and found the hotel totally disappointing. It is not a five star hotel as it lacks the service and little touches you expect from a hotel like this. That is, after all, what you pay a premium for. The hotel is lacking for the following reasons: STAFF: either invisible or unfriendly; you do not get asked about your trip on check in or how your stay was on check out; there are no greetings when you enter; the turndown service was not done every evening; toiletries were not topped up everyday meaning you had to call down to get towels and shower gels. ROOM: you get offered scented sheets before check in but this was done twice only; the glass showers in the middle of the room are weird; they are functional but not luxurious; they are not soundproof as advertised as the cleaning staff make enough noise to wake you up early ROOFTOP: this is the best bit of the hotel although Grand Central is better; don't bother paying to hire the chill out areas as they are overpriced and generally available anyway My recommendation would be, for the same price, to stay at Hotel Arts or Grand Central. Those hotels have the facilities, customer service and everything you would expect from a 5* hotel. Ohla is just disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Beautiful hotel, lovely staff

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We stayed here the last night of our honeymoon after traveling around Spain for two weeks. The staff was wonderful and accommodated our early arrival. They even sent up a bottle of champagne to congratulate us. Jorge was so sweet and friendly. I will stay there again if I return to Barcelona
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Great location but disappointing hotel and not 5*

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I have just returned from staying at this hotel and whilst the building looks stunning and the location is great I felt it was disappointing and not what you would expect from a five star hotel. With hotels like this it is about service and little touches but this hotel was lacking: Check in: I thought an Expedia VIP hotel, with Expedia plus membership, meant something but we were not given the chance to upgrade; the lady on check in also seemed uninterested and surly and did not ask how our trip had been etc Staff: I found them either invisible or unfriendly. You wouldn't get greeted when you walked in and the staff at breakfast were particularly unfriendly one morning Housekeeping: this was poor. Some days the turn down service was not done and toiletries not replenished so I had to call down to get soap and towels sent up. Also before checking in you are asked to choose what scented sheets you wanted. This was only done on two evenings. Rooms: they are fairly basic and functional but the showers are glass boxes in the middle of the room which is just weird. Check out: as with check in we were not even asked whether we had enjoyed our stay. It could be a great hotel but the ingredients are lacking and it seems that the staff are just unhappy. My recommendation would be to stay at the Grand Central Hotel or Hotel Arts. Similar prices but leagues ahead for comfort and service which is what you are paying a premium for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lage

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Schneller Zimmerwechsel möglich, nachdem das erste Zimmer in keinem guten Zustand war. Tolles, flexibles Serviceteam