Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Hotel needs up dated.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Stayed at so many better hotels in Spain this place was dirty and unkept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by ramon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pestana Arena Barcelona. I am sorry that your experience did not met your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Ramon Alegret General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Customer service and location
Cons: Nothing
Location: There are three metro stations nearby and you can walk within five minutes to Placa d;Espanya
High level of customer service. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you very much for your good comments and remarks. Our staff will be very proud of your words which mean a lot for us. It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope to see you back sometime to offer you our service the best we can. We thank you once again for your gentle words and the time you have spent to appreciate our work, we are happy you have enjoyed your trip to Barcelona and you have selected our hotel for your holidays. With our best wishes. Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Clean, modern and in a quiet spot. Did have time to check a spa though, but it gives you a nice addition to the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Vlad, Let me thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. It is much appreciated. It is a pleasure to read that you felt that our hotel is clean and modern and it is also important for us to know that the location met also your expectations: near to Plaza de España and the convention center. Once again, thank you so much and I hope to see you again in the Pestana Arena Barcelona soon. Yours Sincerely, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
4 out of 5
by Justin N.

Great place

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Spend 3 days at the hotel, it's a nice place, easilly accessible and you get get exactly as what is described on the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Justin, We wish to thank you for choosing the Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel and for sharing your experiences. We feel proud when our guests express their gratitude and your compliments have exceeded our expectations. We thank you for considering the Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel a place to stay and we will be waiting for you to come back! Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Nice hotel and friendly staff, good location. I will recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are absolutely thrilled with your very kind words and your high score. We feel proud when our guests express their gratitude and your compliments have exceeded our expectations. We thank you for considering the Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel a place to recommend and we will be waiting for you to come back! Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Location ok, 10 euros into centre

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We had a terrible experience at this hotel. The room was like a sauna with the temperature fixed at 21 degrees and unable to lower it. Although this was inaccurate as it was so hot ! We woke up on the first morning covered in bites ! I reported this and the room was cleaned with no further bites. The staff explained that this was due to tiger mosquitos in November, I would question this. Either way I would never and I mean never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Harris, We truly regret about your bad experience in our Hotel during the first night with us when, indeed, your room was over heated due to the Heating system working on full potential, as our Staff could see personally. For that reason we proposed and insisted to move you to another room, which you refused, staying in the same one. We ensure we did check deeply your room and no insects nor bogs were found, even though we could see you suffered mosquito bites, which supposedly it is what might entered your room having the window open. In case of being any other kind of bug or insect, we presume you would have been attacked a second night too. Believe us, we do regret a lot you had this bad experience as it is something that never happened to us previously. Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Nice Hotel in good location

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Arrived at hotel,friendly staff quick check in , nice clean hotel the room was well presented in a modern way, different style of room corridors with large green room numbers on the rooms very different, in a good location, breakfast was ok could be better, close to metro and bus transport and local amenities, would stay here again in Barcelona....
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Kev, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Pestana Arena Barcelona for your stay in Barcelona and thank you for nice comments. I am really looking forward to welcome you in your further stays in Barcelona. Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfy, central to everything including metro.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
A pleasant and comfortable stay with a group of colleagues. Common areas on floors were too hot, even in November. Breakfast very good and cheaper to purchase locally which we did. No iron or board in the room, so you have to wait for room service to deliver you one which they did. Complimentary water first night only which was odd. Reception efficient and friendly on check in and ordering taxis (very reasonable) but hopeless and painful on check out, charging some people again when they'd already been paid and others not at all apart from tax and extras! right mess that we now need to sort out.Great cafes, tapas bar, convenience stores and metro nearby.30 euro in taxi from El Prat airport of 5 euro by complicated train journey! One of our group (a new member of staff!) was fortunate to get an upgrade to a suite which put a few noses out of joint!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Regarding the upgrade, I am so sorry not to be able to explain you why one of your party had an upgrade instead of you, because I have not enough information about your reservation, but please, believe me when I said that all our customers have the same importance. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from SEOUL, KOREA REPUBLIC OF

Affordable hotel near Sants Barcelona

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location. close to Barcelona Sants and Sants esticio.
Cons: There was no VIP services
Location: Basically no many things around but there are a train station and metro stations near by.
I arrived at Barcelona Sants by Renfe AVE from Madrid. It was close to the hotel. However, I didn't get any VIP services
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by gemma, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jaehun, We would like to thank you for your stay at the Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel. We always try to give VIP services but sometimes is not possible, like unfortunately it was in your case. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. I am really looking forward to welcome you in your further stays in Barcelona. Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Pestana Arena Barcelona for your stay in Barcelona and thank you for your high score. I am really looking forward to welcome you in your further stays in Barcelona. Best regards, Gemma Ramon Front Desk Manager & Public Relations