Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Perfect for a budget short break stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location, perfect base to see all the sights.
Cons: Was a little noisy as on the main road
Location: Easy walk to Sagrada Familia and all the key areas. Near 3 metro lines. Nice to be in a slightly less busy area. Good places to eat/drink nearby
Helpful ad friendly service. All went very smoothly. Great location, little bit noisy due to being on the main road. Very clean, well equipped kitchen, bathrooms although shared were also clean. Would recommend and visit again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location was great and the room clean.
Cons: A bit noisy.
Good value for money. The room was clean. A bit noisy during the night from the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice little guesthouse/apartment

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: It's basic, but gives you all the things you need for a confortable stay. The room including the bathroom was very clean and had a nice addition of the terrace.
Cons: There was nothing I didn't like. Just be aware that you have to go out of the room to get to the bathroom.
Location: It's a great location with the arc de triomf, cathedral and zoo all with a 10 min walk. easy access to a number of metro stops with a 2-5 min walk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France / UK

Noisy hostel with shared bathrooms and fines

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Add double-glazing, clean the rooms each day, replace the towels, get a member of staff on site, fix the internet, don't fine people, call it a hostel
APTBCN Gran Via Guest House is a hostel on a very noisy street. We stayed several nights and slept very badly because the windows are not double-glazed and the traffic noise is unbearable. Our 4-year-old daughter asked us to close the window because she couldn't sleep and we had to explain there was nothing we could do because it was already closed! The internet stopped working for several hours one day but, as there is no member of staff on site, we couldn't do anything about that either. Our room was not cleaned once during our stay and towels were not replaced. As there was nowhere to dry our towels, we had to use wet ones! There was no chair or desk in our room - just 3 beds, 2 bedside tables and a tiny wardrobe. After we booked this place, we received an angry email telling us we had to text 45 minutes before arriving and there would be fines for checking in after 8.00 pm (it goes up to 75 euros depending on how late you are). Our journey was delayed so we arrived at 9.45 and the young woman who checked us in asked us for 25 euros in cash. There is no facility for card payments and we didn't have any cash so we agreed to put cash in the key box. The next day we received text messages telling us to put the cash in the box before the evening which we couldn't do because we were out for the day. This place is a nightmare! It is an over-priced hostel with no thought for the guests. Book a real hotel or use AirBnB - stay well away from this hostel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive, comfortable and perfect alternative

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here. The location worked well and we were able to walk to one the metro easily. There are three different stations all within walking distance. The woman who checked us in was fabulous! She provided great information about Barcelona and made recommendations that fit our style and needs. The comfort of the two twin beds was very good (we would have preferred a double bed, but this worked fine). The shared kitchen and 2 1/2 baths were very clean and worked out better than I anticipated. I would stay here again if I return and needed a low cost alternative.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sharon from Westlake

Almost like being at home

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was convenient to be able to buy groceries and have kitchen access for cooking/refrigerator storage of them. Make sure you bring all your own toiletries as there is no shampoo or bath gel/soap provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Great location, adequate accommodations

Posted May 24, 2016
The guest house is well maintained and cleaned daily. While the apartment is centrally located on Gran Via, which is great for walking to shops and restaurants, there is a fair amount of road noise audible from the rooms even with the windows closed. The bathrooms and kitchen are clean and well appointed. We didn't see other guestsoftne, as everyone kept to themselves. The staff who checked us in was very friendly and a great help in suggesting restaurants and attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Werribee, Australia

Great accomodation in the heart of Barcelona

Posted May 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to great restaurants away from the tourist orientated eating areas. Easy access to all the attractions Barcelona has to offer.
Cons: Nothing, its a beautiful old building, dont change a thing.
This accomodation is ideally located with access to public transport nearby. A lazy 10 minutes walk to Old Barcelona and Las Ramblas, and 15 minutes by bus to the beach. The room we stayed in was quite large and clean with its own private ensuite. There is a large common room with full cooking facillities. There is also a great tapas bar and restaurant located on the ground floor which also served a great breakfast, if you didnt feel like making your own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely room in a great location

Posted Apr 20, 2016
On arrival Mariana was outside waiting for us, she was so lovely and friendly and gave us all the information we needed on Barcelona. The location is great, walking distance to La Rambla, Metro stations and Sagarda Familia. The room was modern, clean and comfy. The apartment had great facilities (not that we used them). There was also plenty of supermarkets and a 24 hour one near the apartment so you can always get food and water. Definitely stay here again!