Ratings based on 2,887 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Close to everything

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Recent remodeled room, very comfortable, and the Hotel staff was very helpful and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Outdated, rusted and bugs

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Could try and maintain the rust and pests. We killed a total of 3 bugs
Location: It's a 7min walk to La Rambla
I stayed in the TRYP hotel in Mallorca and had a nice time so we decided to stay at TRYP in Barcelona. We booked this place because of the star rating, location and amazing pictures. But don't let the images fool you - entering the hotel hallways is like stepping back in time. It smells old and has the finishings to match. The bathroom was nice but all the steel is rusted, and smelled like old piping at times. We also killed a total of 3 bugs, though some did get away. I found the bed linens were comfortable among the 70s/80s inspired decor. I felt like I was on the set of a retro porno. There was a point where I exited my room to find a man in his boxers on all fours in the hallway, which makes me question the type of clientele that would stay here. All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you want to re-live the 1970s or film a retro porn. Otherwise, I would never stay here even if you paid me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Transition from a cruise to the airport.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The room was wonderful and the breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Not a lot if anything.
Location: As we only stayed one night on our way to the Airport we did do anything outside the hotel.
The hotel was more than we expected and the hotel were very helpful with our transfer to the airport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Very dated hotel in need of complete upgrade

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The main attraction of this hotel is the location it is very central and all attractions just a short walk away
Cons: The whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment
Location: Very central location all amenities a short walk away
Stayed here for 3 nights staff are very friendly & helpful and reception area very clean. However the rest of the hotel is in need of a complete upgrade, The carpets in the corridors are threadbare and although the rooms are lean they do look quite old. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room at the back of the hotel as it is quite noisy at the front, however we were overlooking a building site next door with building work starting early in the morning, Not really what I would call a quite room!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Our hotel visit was Very bad we did not enjoy our visit at your hotel it was very noisy till the morning the beds are a very terrible quality our room was very smelly because of the old carpet it was not clean at all and very disgusting it is not a good location for kids and family there was construction everywhere and it was a waste of our money and we were told that their was a pool but their wasn't. I don't recommend this hotel at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location was good, easy walk to las Rambles, Placa de Catalunya , Barcelona Cathedral and Gothic Quarter. Metro stop just outside hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hallways
Location: lots nearby.
The Hotel was okay, it had some intensive construction going on at the time we were there. The hallways were pretty bad, stains, ripped carpet etc... but the location was pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good hotel. Location was good.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel was good. Could use some updates. Not a 4 or 5 star by US standards. Staff was excellent. Rooms were a bit pricey . I paid about $400.00 per night for 2 nights for a family room including some city tax stuff . Slept 4 people very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice and friendly

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Very nice hotel friendly staff very helpful as it was my first time in Barcelona come back here again many thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burlington ON Canada

good location but rooms were very small/outdated

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: breakfast and location
Cons: beds, update rooms and hallways
Location: in walking distance to La Ramlas and the waterfront and metro right outside hotel
enjoyable stay, but we asked for a queen bed and got a double. A/C is very poor and rooms are very small. buffet breakfast is very nice.