Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

More than a home from home!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: Nearby shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
We needed a lovely B and B facility as we were visiting Barnards Castle just for an evening to pick up a puppy! Excellent facilities. In a very good position along a main cross pennine route. Very friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. Like a home from home but I cannot cook like the owner so definitely "more than" a home from home!! Very generous well cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jesmond. Newcastle upon Tyne

A very comfortable hotel with two lovely owners.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Location: Lots of things to see. Barnard Castle, St. Mary's Church, The Bowes Museum. Some very nice little shops, galleries and eating places.
We had a very enjoyable stay Glenda and Danielle did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were superb. Lovely fresh fruit salad and an excellent cooked grill. We were welcomed with Glenda's delicious home made cake the first day we arrived. She and Danielle are Italian and both excellent cooks/ bakers. We stayed in the Garden room which was very peaceful and the garden itself is a delight.I would certainly recommend this Guest House.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, friendly guest house

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Homely
Cons: Not for the price.
Very homely, old English country garden feel. Very friendly & welcoming
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming , lovely breakfast and a great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant accommodation

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very good guest house, definitely 4 stars. Staff were excellent as was the breakfast. Highly recommended, I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bude

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely overnight stay at Homelands in Barnard Castle, lovely small town, great centre for walking cycling touring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great B&B, really lovely staff!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
I stayed one night at this B&B after a friends wedding, the staff were very helpful and allowed us to check-in a little early to fit around the wedding timings. The room was really comfortable and had everything I needed. Breakfast was yummy and the staff were lovely. A great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Excellent Guest House

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Everything mentioned above and also had a very good breakfast very well cooked. Lots of choice.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Barnard Castle is an interesting village and there appears to be lots to do in the area but we were only stopping over on the way further north.
Stayed in this village en route further north. Chose Homelands as highly reviewed by other travellers. Warmly welcomed by owner with a much needed cup of tea (could have had coffee or sherry). Lovely room at the back of the property with en suite shower room. Very good quality toiletries supplied. Great attention to detail including face cloths which is helpful when only spending one night somewhere but not often supplied. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Overnight stop off in Barnard Castle

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Located very near to the town centre; Bowes Museum is in walking distance or a short drive away.
Excellent personal service from friendly staff right from the start. A lovely building with beautifully decorated rooms. Excellent facilities, really nice breakfast selection, parked right outside, close to shops and restaurants and a very reasonable price!
5 out of 5
by Angela from Cheshire

Only wish I could have stayed longer!

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Homelands. There was a warm welcome when I arrived, and the accommodation was bright and spotlessly clean. My single room was compact but comfortable, with tv & wifi access, and the ensuite facilities were excellent. The breakfast menu provided a wide range of choice and servings were generous. My room was quiet and I slept well. Homelands is well-placed for a gentle stroll round the town and Barnard Castle is a great base for exploring this beautiful part of County Durham. I recommend Homelands unreservedly.