Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lovely bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Lovely bed and breakfast hidden away in the countryside, extremely quiet and peaceful, ideal for a quick stopover or a longer stay exploring the beautiful area. Rooms clean and very well equipped, excellent breakfast choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notts

Rural break

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Everything, particularly the peace & quiet.
Warm friendly welcome & comfortable room, great to have guest lounge to use. Plenty of information available on places to visit, things to do in the area.
5 out of 5
by Lucy

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful welcome with scones, jam and tea in the room. Just what we wanted after our drive up. Fabulous breakfast and lovely friendly hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Delightful farm stay with attention to details

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Karen was most attentive and charming. Karen had scones, cookies, fresh milk and tea waiting for us in our room. Her breakfast was a wonderful English breakfast plus a nice assortment of cold items including fresh fruit. There are only two guest rooms but the assortment of breakfast items was nice. Karen guided us to a nice local restaurant for our evening meal, a pub frequented by locals. The owner was the cook. After dinner he joined his patrons in the bar. Lily Hill is a nice quiet spot. We enjoyed the ruins in Baynard Castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

A delightful country stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Spence, location, solitude, friendliness, comfort.
Cons: N/A.
Location: I was in transit -peaceful, scenic, a good central place to stop off in the north.
Friendly, peaceful with views to sooth the heart. Location great as a stop over from East Anglia to Scotland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I booked for one night . It was comfortable and excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Lovely, quiet place to stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The lady running it had obviously put thought into what guests would require, such as three towels per person.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near Barnard Castle which has lots to do around the area.
Warm welcome to a traditional farm house. Room was large and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean and nice little touches like fresh milk, and ground coffee for using in your room. Heating was on when I arrived late afternoon, so room and bathroom at a nice temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and friendly

Posted Sep 28, 2016
A beautiful setting with lovely views. We were warmly welcomed and well looked after. Definitely hope to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Peaceful

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Country setting,
Cons: Not keen on cuppa tea
Location: Only there a night to see an agricultural show but like the lovely larl towns around banard castle, middleton, not far from bigger towns , castles
We had twin room which was fairly spacious with all we needed, few chocs and biscuits, beds comfy, an old farmhouse with good views and wildlife, we only there one night, plenty of brecky choice, nice fryup cerials fresh fruit yogurts jams, a good down to earth farmhouse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice b & b quiet and very homely.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Had a lovely stay sorry it was only one night.would certainly stay again. Very good value fantastic breakfast and friendly hosts.