Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Good Bed & Breakfast. Convenient for town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly, welcoming staff. Good food and facilities
Location: Barnard Castle is an interesting old town. The castle is worth a visit and the surrounding area outstanding, especially if the weather is kind!
Welcoming and helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast excellent. Altogether a pleasant stay - would recommend and will certainly stay there again when in Barnard Castle
5 out of 5
by Lloyd

Walking distance to Castle, Bowes Museum, Shops

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Would certainly stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay with amazing breakfast

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were attending an event at the Witham, which is only a few minutes walk from the b&b, and centre of town. Parking was convenient, right outside on the roadside. Room was lovely and warm and Margaret provided everything for a comfortable stay, including bathrobes, bottled water, fresh milk in fridge on the landing and there were even hot water bottles in the bathroom, a nice thought, but not needed. Our room was not very big, but had a comfortable king-size bed and was certainly adequate for a short stay. Only criticism was the tv was really small, but not a problem when only staying one night. The highlight for us was the breakfast. Although we were the only guests, the choice was amazing and tastier than many luxury hotels we have stayed in. My husband enjoyed his homemade muesli and the large cooked breakfast was really tasty. Loved the plum jam and variety of fresh fruit. The dining room had a lovely ambience and was decorated very tastefully for Christmas. We would certainly stay again when visiting the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Possibly the best in Barnard castle

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
We were fortunately upgraded to a larger room at the back of the property. Room was clean and felt new. Shower was a good pressure and warm. Area was quiet and easy to find. Parking was not a problem with street parking outside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
There was a little confusion over booking in time, but it was IT issue.If I'd called to confirm booking before arrival it would of been sorted out.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Whitehaven

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
A 2 night stay in Barnard Castle to allow us to attend the KYNREN show at nearby Bishop Aukland and we also took the opportunity to go to the Bowes Museum situated in Barnard Castle which had the V&A shoe exhibition on show and there is a vast amount of other exhibits from paintings glass wear china wear well worth a visit spent quite a few hours there.
5 out of 5
by Malcolm from Holmes Chapel

Excellent Barnard Castle B&B

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent B&B with friendly owner and staff; Well located to walk into town, and close to great Italian restaurant. Breakfast was extensive and enjoyable. Only slight problem was having to walk up several flights of stairs - we were at the top of the building!!
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Middlesbrough

Friendly

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Thank You to Margaret and her staff, made us feel so welcome, rooms where clean, the beds where very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Staff very polite. Would recommend this BB
5 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Frank from Bolton

Relaxing stay at Strathmore Lawn East

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Margaret is a very friendly and obliging lady, and recommended places to eat and to visit.The Bowes museum is amazing. Excellent breakfast in her lovely period home.