Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

Beautiful house in Barnard Castle

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Welcome by owner & given some fresh milk for a cuppa. Bedroom & private bathroom & toilet spotless. Nice chat and advice about where to eat. Info in room about places to visit. We were going to a gig, our Sons band were playing and we were given good directions to the venue. Very good night ‘s sleep, followed by an excellent breakfast. I didn’t eat meat & was given lovely veggie sausages. I would recommend to all my friends & family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach

All things great

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: spotlessly clean !!
Location: In the heart of town, so you can walk to a grocery, pharmacy, fish and chips, Indian - everything !!!
from start to finish it's a wonderful stay. Heated towels, lovely linens, great breakfast and walking distance to everything. Even the game room has puzzles and fun things to do if you want a break from your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edina

Quaint and Clean. Excellent Full English Breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location (across from bus stop, and near the Fish and Chips and a Morrisons). Comfort. Ease of accessibility (she just gave me keys). Breakfast!
Cons: I had a bit of a hard time reaching the proprietor to let her know my plans for arrival and departure. The wifi was also spotty, and I had work to do.
Location: Castle to tour, market town. High Force falls. Dale walks.
This is a very small B&B conveniently located in the middle of Barnard Castle. The room and bed was very comfortable, with a nice ensuite updated bathroom. There were plenty of pleasant amenities, and homey touches. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding and freshly, and well, cooked by the owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Excellent Guest House close to shops & restaurants

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It is clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The garden room was very well equipped, having a kitchen and living area.
Location: It is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and The Bowes Museum, which is in beautiful grounds and well-worth a visit.
Having made our booking last minute, we were delighted to use the garden room which accommodated three members of our family. The two-storey accommodation is excellent, especially if you want to self-cater as it has a kitchen and living area. We were well looked after by the staff who served a very good full English breakfast in addition to fruit and cereal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in middle of town

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Staff could not do enough for you and made us feel at home
5 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alan

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our mini break. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Great comfort in perfect location

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic -so welcoming and an extremely comfortable bed. Top class amenities and delicious breakfast. Very handy for the town.Very good value
5 out of 5
by Caroline

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room, fantastic service. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland Tyne & Wear

Ideally situated near centre of town

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Practically everything. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The en suite bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Barnard Castle is an historic Market Town in the west of County Durham. Local attractions are Bowes Museum, the old castle and Raby Castle.
I cannot find fault with any detail of our stay. Bearing in mind it was a single night stay the proprietor went out of her way to be helpful. For instance, we were attending a wedding and the reception was 5 miles from the hotel, on her own initiative she suggested we leave our car at the reception hotel and she would take us to collect it the following morning. There was no restriction on the time we returned after the reception. We were given a set of keys which were cleverly colour coded for the outside and inner doors and the bedroom. A simple point but an indication of the the lady going that ' extra mile' to look after us.