Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

In Centre of Barnet

Posted Feb 12, 2018
We needed a hotel in Barnet as we’re visiting relatives. This is ideal location for us as within walking distance of our family. It it a restaurant really with 4 rooms- so don’t expect lots of facilities like a usual hotel. However the room / en-suite was perfectly clean, residents have their own key to a side entry door. The room only had a small frosted window- overlooking the roof below I presume. The toilet seat was loose on 1 side. Rooms are uncluttered and neutral. There is muffled noise in the evening from the restaurant below- so if you like to retire at 9pm this won’t be suitable for you. Friday evening the noise stopped about 11pm when restaurant closed- but nearer midnight on the Saturday. Not really a problem for us. The bath towels were a bit skimpy. These are the only negatives. Breakfast was included in the price. Either continental with choice of cereals/ yoghurt/ juice/ toast etc. Or full English/ salmon and eggs etc. This was served in a side area of the restaurant- and is sufficient. There is a very small bar area within the restaurant. Staff were lovely and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Overall our stay was good. We will go back there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Local birthday party

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Room was quiet small but it was one night. The staff were very hood and the breakfast was excellent. Good location for our birthday party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney - Australia

TOP CLASS IN ALL RESPECTS.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: It was neat and very well managed and maintained.
Cons: All accommodation is charged at double rates even for singles. Acceptable if the hotel is fully booked but not if there are still rooms available.
Location: Very central to the town but tucked away in a quiet lane to afford guests a peaceful and quiet night
Very pleasant accommodation in the centre of town. Excellent food and accommodation, friendly and helpful staff and delicious cuisine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Just one hiccup........

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for where we needed to be for two days.
Cons: Curtains at the windows, second chair, some wall decoration to take off the bare starkness of the room, more shelving in the bathroom, better towels.
We chose this purely for the location we needed. The rooms are OK if not drab and undecorated, although sufficiently furnished and clean enough. Bathroom good size but lacks shelf space, fully tiled, good shower Container soaps provided but very small towels. Tea and coffee items available, with biscuits and bottled water. As with many hotels, two guests but only one chair - irritating. On the first morning breakfast was a disgrace. The waiter had not arrived for work and the lone chef we eventually found in the kitchen cooked a poor, meagre meal, served on small cold plates. No fruit juice or cereals and just two pieces of sliced white bread toast between us. Not a good start or a good advertisement for the place. However, we had a meal in the restaurant on our second night - dinner is not served on Sunday evenings - and this was excellent. Perfect carpaccio of beef for one starter, the other chargrilled prawns on a beansprout, cucumber and pickled carrot salad. Delicious. Perfectly cooked ribeye steak for one diner and beautifully done rump of lamb for the other. Breakfast on our last morning was a turnaround. We were greeted by a waitress and given a generous, good full English breakfast with juices, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit available. Inedible toast. This establishment puts itself forward as a restaurant with rooms and that is what you get. The rooms are not glamorous but acceptable for a short stay. Restaurant and the few staff we encountered very good.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Pleasant stay.

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleased with our one night stay, which was ideally located for an evening at Elstree Studios (about 15 minutes drive max). Parking at rear tight but ideal, family room clean and comfortable. Wifi good, shower hot, beds fine. Breakfast was great, staff extremely pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

. Wonderful food. extremely helpful staff.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Very Italian...
Wonder-full location Good parking. professional staff. Excellent chef.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leatherhead

A functional B&B for an overnight stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This is a restaurant with rooms just behind Barnet High Street in a quiet backwater. The bedroom had no view apart from piping from the kitchen. The bedroom was pleasant -tea making facilities plus free bottled water and good toiletries. The bed mattress was of poor quality and required immediate replacement!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taunton

Nice hotel shame about the breakfast staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Stayed here a couple of years ago and had just good memories so rebooked to stay with my mum whilst in the area for a funeral. We were overall very pleased until it came to breakfast. 4 friends decided to join us at the hotel for breakfast which I booked the night prior. On the morning we came down we're greated fairly abruptly by the waiter on duty. Friends arrived and were also greated with a grunt. No "help yourselves to cereal and juice" speal... I even had the audacity to interrupt the waiter playing I his phone at the bar to ask for more toast, a request which was ignored and only when we finished our breakfasts and eventually appeared to clear our plates I reminded him about the toast ... to a blank expression like I'd never asked!! Overall breakfast experience really let the whole stay down and was actually embarrassing to have invited friends to join us and be treated in that way. Room was very clean, with a lovely bathroom and the chap who greeted us on arrival was friendly ... shame he wasn't on for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ruth

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely little place. A bit hard to find if you don't know the area. Rooms were small but clean, breakfast 10out of 10. Service good.