Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
The guest accommodations are a wee bit tired and the noise from the Pub below plus the Club behind meant there was little chance of getting to sleep before 1:00am
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Central location in the town but this means no parking and rooms can be noisy at night from the club nearby. Had a problem on our first morning with the chef not turning up for their breakfast shift. So although breakfast is served from 6am, at 8.15 we couldn't access the Inn or dining area for breakfast and therefore our start to the day was extremely delayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
We had a great stay, made to feel very welcome. Really nice accommodation and good food. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Good stopping off point on canal walk

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the quality of the meals.
Location: Situated in the pleasant village of Barnoldswick in walking distance of the Leeds - Liverpool canal.
I wanted to walk the Leeds - Liverpool towpath over several days. I did a bit of research to find accommodation close to the canal. The Fountain Inn fit the bill and I was more than pleased with my choice. I received a friendly welcome. The room was small but cosy and I was impressed with the biscuits! I had a very good meal in the bar. There was a separate dining room too. There was a good choice of beers and a nice atmosphere. I had a comfortable night's sleep followed by a well cooked ( and large! ) full English breakfast to finish off a perfect stay. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night business trip

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Service upon arrival was a little slow, no dedicated hotel staff so had to enquire at the bar, once established, service was good, especially at dinner and breakfast where staff were very courteous and attentive. Single room was small but big enough for 1, no desk but a reasonably comfy armchair to work on a laptop. Had no visibility of supposed wi-fi network. If I had been staying for more than 1 night it would have been useful to have better facilities for the hanging of clothes, a nail on the wall with a coat hanger is not ideal. Bathroom appeared clean but there was an unpleasant smell coming from the shower cubicle drain, which dissipated upon running the shower. Overall, excellent value for money, good food and would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston Lancashire

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: You cannot improve perfection.
Location: We were there to attend a Golden Wedding in Foulridge and Fountains Inn was near enough to our venue.
The Fountains Inn was an absolutely stunning place for food and accommodation, loved every minute of it especially the staff. Cannot fault our experience at all. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Hotel With Character

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: The room seemed to have been only partly painted but that added to the quirkyness
A warm & welcoming Inn that caters for your all your needs. The room was small but that just added to the cosy effect with it being an old building. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Oh and the cookies in the room went down well too!
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely area and central to enable exploration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy Barlick Inn

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and good food.
Cons: Room lighting was rather dim. Either a brighter central lamp or a reading lamp that could be plugged in at any one of the many sockets.
Location: Good walks in and around the town Easy access to other town and countryside..
Very welcoming and attentive throughout the week. Good breakfasts and also the (few) evening meals we had Pity that there was no car park but for those who know the town it was easy to find an overnight parking place.