Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, well located hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Pros: The location was perfect for going to the beach, or relaxing and looking at the view. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Limit the air conditioner dripping in the room.
We liked this hotel for its charm, location, price and generous breakfast. .We reserved a room with a balcony view over the delightful Barra beach and historic fort for two nights. Unforeseen events, however, allowed us only one night, which was disappointing. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The manager, Cristiane, was welcoming. The location was across the road from the beach, close to historic forts, bars and restaurants and a couple of kilometers from a shopping mall. We slept very well as the bed and bedding were comfortable and air conditioning efficient.
3 out of 5
by Maurina

Porto da Barra

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great but the hotel itself should be well take care of. I stayed for 2 nights, but the staff had to change my room 3 times to give me a better room, but there was always a problem in each room. It was okay, very simple, good for a night or two!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Variable service

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Service was very variable. Sometimes great sometime awful
4 out of 5
by Benjamin

Perfect picturesque location

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a little gem right by the beach in Barra. It is a beautiful historic building and I had a massive room and a beach view, which was spectacular throughout the day. Barra beach is very lively and noisy but only until midnight - and that is part of the charm. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly, they didn't have much English but my Portuguese was good enough. My only complaint was that when I checked out I had a 10% service charge added to the bill. which I have never had in any hotel anywhere in the world before. I couldn't understand if this was optional so paid, and it wasn't too much, but this was the only problem with an amazing weekend break. Without this strange charge I would have given 5 stars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

So terrible, couldn't stay for another hour

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel is incredibly worn down and dirty. The entrance is through one building, which connects to another building through a confusing and dark maze to reach the room. I got lost, as there are no signs, and went through neglected areas of the hotel full of spider webs and trash everywhere. Smells from the kitchen are also very present in the rooms. I asked for a refund after check in but the hotel made me pay 80$ anyway. It's inacceptable. I went to another hotel as I couldn't even bring myself to sleep at Village Novo
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Polangui, Albay, Philippines

Great location across the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The location and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Get rid of the smell in the room. Provide more lighting on the hallways and in front of the room.
Location: Location is excellent. The beach is right in front just across the road. Restaurants line up the street. The lighthouse is a nice spot to visit.
Village Novo Beach Suites is an old and small hotel. The first room given to me had a faulty toilet flush so I was moved to another room, which was clean but had a faint smell and with no hot water shower. The lack of hot water did not matter much because it was a hot week then. The WiFi connection was not bad but there was no tiny table where I could use my laptop. the size of the room could not accommodate such table. What it lacked in amenities, the hotel compensated by its great location, and friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located just across the Porta da Barra beach, separated only by the main thoroughfare where one can hail a cab or get on buses going to other parts of the city. The breakfast selection was good. The hotel is walking distance from an important tourist attraction, the lighthouse. The supermarket is nearby and lots of places to eat are found along one side of Avenida 7 de setembro. The area is lively and animated almost throughout the day, from sunrise where the early risers walk, jog, run or simply enjoy watching the waves lapping against the shore. As the day progresses, more people start to crowd the broad sidewalk and the beach. In the afternoon and evenings, the restaurants become busy with dining and beer drinking clients. I had to leave the hotel for the airport very early in the morning. I made arrangement with the lady at the reception the day before and she made sure a taxi showed up for my ride to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old charmîg mansion

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was charmîg its a very old mansion medium renovated but the staff was extremely great smiling and very helpfull, the hotwl owner was also all the time available very very helpfull speak very well english '' very rare in brazil'' she also helped me for booking and negotiating some tours and giving me some helpfull tips for the city, the room was confortable a little beet oldy but the bed very confortable and an amazing vue on the barra beach near the fort, the neighborhood was pretty quiet when sleeping i heared only the ocean nothing else, for a short stay i recommand it
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Nice hotel, right in front of the beach. Located above a restaurant, on a very lively street.
4 out of 5
by Julie

Great place to stay right on the waterfront

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
The location is ideal - right on the waterfront. The neighborhood, Barra, is great because it is easy to get to all the main tourist destinations in Salvador but it's a pretty calm neighborhood compared to downtown areas where other hotels are located. At night the boardwalk can get crowded and loud but it was fine overall. The couple who run the hotel are friendly and helpful. They even gave us a free upgrade on our last two nights to a huge apartment on the top floor of the hotel. The building is an old mansion style, so it is not a modern building but that is part of its charm. There is a rooftop terrace with a great view of the ocean. And the breakfast buffet is excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view, comfy bed but seriously noisy

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Brilliantl location with beautiful sea view but right by a bus stop and above a series of bars with outside tables so there was a huge amount of noise. For those who don't mind noise, though, it's perfect as the room was spacious and very comfy and Barra is a great place to be. The only real disappointment was a sub standard breakfast.