Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pure Magic!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Where else can you stay in the former home of a famous sculptor and artist? This place is absolute magic – paintings, sculpture, cats, dogs and magnificent view – all in the heart of a wonderful bohemian and artistic neighborhood. I will stay here and only here on every return trip to Lima.
4 out of 5
by Carole

Second Home Peru is aptly named.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely place to stay in the Soho district of Barranco, Lima, Peru. The home is a lovely 5 room retreat tucked away from the bustle of the mail streets. An added bonus is the history of Victor Delfin, the well known Peruvian artist, his artwork on display everywhere, and meeting the artist himself. The staff and owner are so accommodating while being unobtrusive. We loved our stay here. Only one criticism: we found the swimming pool a bit uninviting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, great location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Second home itself is beautiful and the ocean view rooms are pretty amazing. Easy walk down to the beach and located in a great area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, PA

Excellent choice.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Unique, interesting and great views.
Location: Barranco is interesting; went to a street fair and the beach.
Place is interesting, especially with all the art work made by the patriarch of the family. Great view overlooking the ocean. Very well accommodated by the staff for some of our special needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Has a beautiful view of the ocean;

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very eclectic ; their wonderful view of the ocean and sunset made it easier to overlook the odd layout of the rooms.
Cons: More staff, particularly during the pending holidays.
Location: The downtown area and square are just a block away and the ocean/sunset is just outside your window.
6 of us arrived at once and there was initial confusion and inability to give me a room. Once the others were settled my luggage was placed in "storage" as a second thought. Room was ready upon our return from our cooking lesson after 5 p.m.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely "second home"

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely "second home", amazing views over the coastline, lots of character in the house including great artwork from the resident artist. Conviently located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrific value in Baranco.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful property owned by a renowned artist; his art works are displayed everywhere on the property and a tour of his studio (including meeting the artist) is available. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the marvelous ocean view. Breakfast is included and they are very accommodating in allowing you to store your luggage and continue to use the grounds if you have, as we did, a late-night flight. It is a great value; we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great experience.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Great location. Victor Delfin is a charming man.
What a find!!! Beautiful views. Great art. What a terrific experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish I could have loved it but..

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The location, aesthetics, and amenities of Second Home Peru could not have been more perfect, but unfortunately, our interaction with the staff completely ruined our stay. We had to push back our trip to Peru for medical reasons, and I called the hotel well in advance, over two weeks before our planned date, notifying them that we would not be there. I spoke with them on the phone and chose another day to transfer our room. However, when we arrived, the owner said that we had lost her money and that she had given away our room. Instead, we were put in a tiny room underneath the stairs that I don't think they even advertise online. The owner said that her staff had not communicated the change with her and that she lost one potential night of business. We had clear email records confirming the change, but she would not offer us a discount or our money back. She said that we should have spoken with her, but how were we supposed to know that the representative we were emailing with and on the phone with was not the owner? It was the hotel's email address. We felt incredibly taken advantage of and ripped off, and I was disappointed that even when we had clear confirmation, in writing, the owner was unsympathetic and unfair.