Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low price, good location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Fair price
Cons: Rooms and furniture are a bit dated.
Location: Convenient to the Capital, Montpelier. Small town with good local food.
A bit worn, but good location, and fair price. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I stay there whenever I'm in town. (about once a month.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sizeable rooms, comfortable place to stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The double queen room was large, the breakfast was good serve yourself(mini egg omelet, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, yogurt, etc). The pool room is large, pool was warm one night, cooler the next. Hot tub was awesome after skiing days. Decent enough location, main places to eat in town a few miles away. The price was under 100 for the room including tax so it was very reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to see how pleased you were with our breakfast and our accommodations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to host you again on your next trip to Barre, Vermont.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vt

Not many hotels in area. This one was fine.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Just passing thru. Hotel was okay budget location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: clean & comfortable bed
Cons: new door locks apparently the current ones freeze all the time
Only problem was that the lock on the door was frozen
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We hope to see You again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Haven, CT

near relatives

Posted Dec 27, 2016
very friendly staff. Great breakfast. They fixed the tub drain
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Room was very clean and well maintained..Found the bed in the bed in this room to be not as comfortable as the one we stayed in the last time we stayed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Melissa , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We hope to see you on your next trip to Barre, Vermont.
3 out of 5
by Mel

Not many options in this area and this was OK

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
There are not many options in this area and this property is a little rough but OK.Room was really cold and it seemed the heating unit had a hard time keeping up. The heating unit was also about 4 feet from the bed and a little annoying while trying to sleep. Staff was awesome and welcoming. Again not many options and when I am back for business I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel staff was nice. Good breakfast.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
It is a good location for seeing our daughter and grandson. It is older and has some issues. But I still would recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and the staff
Cons: heating system and know repairs made before renting out the room
On a positive note, the receptionists we encountered were very pleasant and the complimentary breakfast was good. We were put in a room where the door handle was a little broken which we were informed of when we checked in. Turns out it was not just getting in that was an issue but it did not lock well. It was cold out and the heater rattled every time it went on throughout the night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay.