Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing information

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: price
The ad was not honest and advertised that the hotel was only ).5km from Casino which is completely inaccurate. It was a 15 minute car ride and coming home much longer. We only chose the location because of the proximity to casino and feel taken advantage of. Furthermore, there was a heavy snow fall which made our travel to and fro difficult. This is unacceptable as people should be able to expect truthful information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Would go again but....

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: desk clerk, location, it had everything we needed in the room and more.
Cons: housekeeping
Location: it was downtown. close to road accesses we needed, close to grocery store and other misc stores.
The staff was friendly, helpful, accommodating. The room had everything we needed and the bed was clean, but some of the towels smelt of cigarette smoke and the shower curtain was dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oshawa

lovely room and excellent bed

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Cordial caring staff
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Ray put on a murder mystery in Orillia and had another in Huntsville the next day. He enjoyed the quiet.
My husband was very happy with the room I booked for him. The room was clean. The staff helped him carry heavy speakers from car into room, and the bed was very comfortable. He slept in....something he rarely does! We look forward to staying a night there together soon. Bev
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, ON

Ok place for a night stay.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Location was great, everything was handy to get too.
Cons: Decor and cleanliness could be improved.
Location: We were there for a concert at casino Rama, there was a flat rate for a cab.
Staff were great, common areas were quite dingy, room was small and outdated however the bed was comfortable for a night sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Innisfil

Very convenient location.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds.
Cons: All was said above, requires reno
Location: great location, could walk anywhere and find anything you wanted
Wanting to stay at a hotel while visiting Casino Rama seemed an easy reservation to make. Only one room left in Orillia (Other than Rama itself) was at the Rodeway. After reading all the negative reviews we hesitated to book. What the heck, lets do it, as long as it's clean we will be fine. This is an old hotel, yes there are stains on the carpet, yes the wall paper is dated, yes there is a musty smell and yes there is no elevator. The beds were comfortable and clean, fridge in the room for beverages, TV, radio and a coffee maker. It's not the Ritz but more than suitable for an evening or two. My only complaint is the cost of the room. Other more newer hotels with more to offer are less expensive and the Rodeway should not be compared in the same price range. I know renovation are coming in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel close to the ferry dock and harbour downtown

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: see experience!
Unfortunately it was not mentioned that the hotel has 3 floors but no elevator. The hotel was short on house cleaning staff. Bathroom: Vents dirty, shower rod and top of built-in plastic bath/shower was dirty. Room was basically too small for a king size bed. Bed and mattress ok. and clean. Only one bedside table lamp for 2 bedside tables. Broadloom in patches that stood up on the small walkway between bed and TV sideboard. Breakfast ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithville, On

Nice place to sleep

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: It wasn't too big like some of the chain hotels and was conveniently located to where we were going for the evening
Cons: Furnishings are a bit dated as well as the wallpaper
Location: A mere 10 minute drive to Casino Rama
A clean, comfortable room. The girl at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area. She answered any questions we had and if she didn't know she did some research and called our room with the results.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Place to Stay

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, appearance, maintenance, parking
Location: Metro, LCBO, Club
We waited too late to book a hotel for a show we were seeing at Casino Rama over a weekend, and this was literally the only place within about 30km left. While the room was listed as a king single bed - smoking, we figured you aren't able to smoke indoors anywhere anymore (that we knew of) so we would be fine. Turns out you can still smoke, or at least they let you there. We were in a corridor with3 other rooms and the moment the hallway door opened the smell of cigarette smoke hits you like a wall. We had to run to a nearby grocery store to buy glade plugins and febreeze to drench the room in. We took the filter out of the wall A/C unit to see if anything was going through, and the unit looked like it has never been cleaned. There was a two inch coating of deep brown dust all over th filter which we then washed off to try and get some legitimate airflow going through the room. The bathroom walls were stained, and the lamps were missing light bulbs. While it was a good location, that is about it. It was a place to literally go back and sleep at and leave as soon as we woke up. If you are looking for much else, you are out of luck sadly. Even paying the Expedia rates, I feel we did over pay for what we got by quite a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quaint old hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Able to walk to shops/waterfront.
Handy hotel close to supermarket, excellent Chinese restaurant, and the lovely waterfront area. Good quiet room - apart from the standard air conditioning unit noise. Adequate breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Bay

Noisy but Convenient for Casinorama

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Better sheets, a television that works, and blowing up the bar next door.
Location: Fine for a casino visit... and Orillia has a rather nicely cultural downtown.
Just needed an overnight stay to see a concert at the casino. This hotel is about 15 minutes away from the casino, so that is the convenience aspect. Unfortunately, the hotel is attached to a bar and on a Saturday night, there is no chance of going to sleep until after 2 am with the techno crap drumming throughout the building. Also, the bar patrons take up all available hotel parking, which is very limited in the first place. Luckily, an abandoned nearby grocery store has a parking lot one can use. The room is quite small and our television did not work. But, what do you expect at a rather cheap rate overall?