Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Don’t stay here

Posted Oct 24, 2017
I stayed here for one night and ended up going to a Hilton down the street. The hotel smells like cigarettes and my room was infested with bugs. The bedding was disgusting! I still haven’t figured out what was on my pillow case. Someone emptied out a cigarillo on the hallway floor. None of the staff even bothered to clean it. There was free breaskfast, but I was afraid to try it based on how filthy the hotel was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations due to housekeeping and maintenence. This is box elder season and we have, as well as all of the hotels in the area, experienced this each year. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention. Please note that the Hawthorn Suites housekeeping schedule is based on our long term stay model. Please feel free to reach out to us with any further question or concerns.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel had ROACHES!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: THEY HAD ROACHES!!! AND NO HOUSEKEEPING ON WEEKENDS????
I checked into the hotel, which at first appeared to be nice, except for the large dog that met me in the lobby. When we went to the room my daughter opened the cabinet to find a large brown roach!!! We killed it and I immediately went to inform management. They brushed it off and tried to get me to accept that it was not a ROACH but instead a box bug of some sort - WHICH THEY CLAIMED TO ALSO HAVE ISSUES WITH ALL THE TIME!! I was disgusted! We packed all our stuff and left that night! Plus, the lady at the front desk told us at check in that they do not have housekeeping on the weekends. WT Heck??? WE WILL NEVER BE BACK!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Ill

Very underwhelming and saw a roach in my friends r

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very underwhelming and saw a roach in a friends room. Also, the continental breakfast, was the worst I've ever had. However, the pillows were fantastic!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Hello Elray, We're sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay with regards to housekeeping or breakfast accommodations. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the pillows in your room. We are working hard to improve our guest experiences. I will be sure to share your comments so we are moving in the right direction. We would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please reach out to us at any time -- we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ypsilanti, mi

Family legoland trip

Posted Oct 19, 2017
When I arrived at the hotel after a long drive, I was greeted at the front counter by a gracious hotel desk employee. She was very knowledgeable about the area and gave all the necessary info I requested. And I can’t leave the very helpful cleaning lady that gave a bag of ice for the road. I highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Hello Quinci, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent review with us -- we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Please stay with us again very soon -- we look forward to your return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Ridiculous!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I recently stayed in this hotel thinking that I was about to stay somewhere nice based off of the reviews, but this place is trash. The toilet in my room flooded the room and I called the front desk looking for help but they took their time to send maintenance. I got a new room and there were stains on the sheets and there were alive bugs in inside of the towels. The hotel front door entrance stays wide opened leaving access to just anyone to walk in at all hours of the night to feel free to roam the halls. I felt physically sick staying here and had to cut my visit short, never will I stay here again. The staff was unhelpful and service combined with the nasty attitudes was trash. Especially from the lady at the front counter Jennifer. Do yourself a favor and save your money by not staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. I have shared you comments and concerns with our team. Please feel to reach out to management with any other concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Nice hotel but remote location. And hard to find. The room wasn't clean when I arrived.. there were a few dirty towels. The toilet ran but all else was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Hello "L" Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate your feedback, it's very important to us to continue improving our brand. We're sorry your room did not meet your expectations. I have shared these comments with our General Manager to address these issues. We understand the road construction has been an inconvenience to many of our guests, but we’re happy to announce it will be coming to an end very soon. The ramps to the Tollway have been completed and are now open after many months. Please reach out to us at any time. We look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

comfortable for long stays, wi fi thumbs down

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: clean, quiet, nice kitchen
Cons: Get the wi fi updated so it has a valid certificate.
Location: Right off the interstate, lots of shopping and restaurants
The room was great, clean. The kitchen had supplies. Dishes, pans, a dishwasher, all were clean and in great shape. My only problems, the satellite for the tv went out in the hotel, no rain, it finally came back on after a day without. I could not connect to the wifi, my tablet said it didnt exist and my phone said it was an unsafe site and even after turning security off, it still refused to go to the browser to sign in. The front desk gave me a number to call for support. I didnt call, it wasnt worth the hassle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us -- we appreciate your comments to help improve our brand. We're thrilled to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us. I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of many of our hotels amenities, including our fully equipped Kitchen, and convenient location to shopping and the interstate. My apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to Wi-Fi outages during your stay with us. We have been working diligently with our vendor to fix the matter. We look forward to your next visit. Please reach out to us at your convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Closer to the Toll Raod.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Room space
Cons: nothing
Location: Close to the Toll Road leading to Chicago and the airport.
Decent place, better than the negative reviews that were posted. Great price for the space provided in the Chicagoland area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Hello LeVan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a positive review about us. We're very glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and found us a great value in the area. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable please get in touch at your earliest convenience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: RENOVATION
Location: Everything was about 3-5miles away, except for fast food and hop
The free breakfast was nice to have. Something was wrong with the ventilation, the people upstairs were smoking and it was in our room the whole day and night. We complained, but nothing happened. The furniture was mismatched in the rooms, and the bathroom ceiling had cracks and small holes that were poorly patched up. The room was clean, I will give them that, but you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate your feedback, it's very important to us to continue improving our brand. We're sorry your room did not meet your expectations with regard to maintence and odors. I have shared these comments with our General Manager to address these issues. We strive to be the best and will do all we can to improve your guest experience upon your next visit with us. Please reach out to us at any time. We look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shenzhen

Poor service mentality

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We booked this hotel because of its proximity to the conference and that it has a shuttle service. We booked the shuttle service for both days of the conference. On the first day about 10 minutes before departure we were told that the shuttle was overbooked and that we had to wait for it to come back. The other guests graciously found other transport but the driver showed up 20 minutes' late. As a result we were late for the conference, all 13 of us. When we complained upon our return, we were told that the driver was also the engineer of the hotel and that he had to fix some stuff that morning. What's so funny was that the front desk staff was so convinced that it was a valid reason for making us late for the conference! We will be going to the same conference annually but we will certainly not stay in this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Francisca Headrick, Hotel Management
We are so happy that you found our location suitable for your conference. We are sorry that our transportation service did not meet with your expectations and that you and the other attendees were late for the conference. Our hotel is comprised of a small staff which makes them very flexible to handle most of our guests needs. However, once in awhile things do happen that our out of our hands and can delay our services. We will look into this occurrence further to determine how it could have been handled better. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay.