Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Absolutely superb stay at Tilney House

Posted Mar 13, 2017
What a memorable stay that was. Wonderful hospitality, superb food, very plush and comfortable room / bed and the game drives / animals seen amazing. All in all a superb team / experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Brilliant safari experience

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, clean, friendly staff, delicious food. Nature on the doorstep. Amazing rangers. Staff willing to go the extra mile. Lovely experience.
Cons: Small thing but there were pigeons on our balcony and they had defecated all over the outdoor future. It was really disgusting and not possible to use
Location: Safari resort speaks for itself. The spa and swimming pool were lovely extras.
Highlight of our holiday. We stayed for 2 nights and went on 4 drives and saw so many amazing animals. Pretty much everything very close to the vehicle - which was more than I could have hoped for. Our ranger was passionate and knowledgeable as well as determined to make the most of our trip for us. You will not be disappointed if you book here and want to see Lions, Elephants, Buffalo, Giraffe, Hippo, Cheetah and actually so much more! We chose this resort as we have a 10 month old baby and I can't fault the childcare. Prompt, warm, friendly and engaging childcare. Happy to do early mornings and the afternoon drives. There is a playroom with toys for all ages and the kitchen even made him food puree. For a small extra cost they also babysit in the evening so you can go down for the supper after the evening drive. The spa is just an amazing bonus. Honestly - can't recommend this place enough. Its well worth the cost. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would visit again

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place to visit, relaxing lodge which was necessary after 0530 game drives, beautiful setting stunning rooms,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

An amazing experience

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: The location is stunning underneath a mountain in the reserve. It proved to be a real sun trap.
The accommodation was excellent in an amazing location complemented by brilliant game drives with an experienced and knowledgeable Ranger. The food and service were excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious & Beautiful Room

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very warm check-in experience with personalised small group meals together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Great Adventure!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, food and Game Drives
Location: Don't need anything else
We had a wonderful time, the staff were very helpful and the facility are well maintained. The food is fantastic! The game drives are unbelievable! We seen 4 of the big 5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has to be done only 3 hrs from Cape Town

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Recommended as a great place for a safari drive as part of the shamwari group It was amazing and the guide brilliant and informative in a very natural setting. Managed to see lions, elephants , rhinos, giraffes, zebra, elands, in their everyday habitat Great taster of a safari for our first time Well looked after and a wonderful colonial experience Should have booked 2 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safari Taster

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Saw the big 5 .... ,mission accomplished. Our comfort and a great experience seemed to be the staff's #1 priority. Well worth the money
3 out of 5
by Suzanne from Henley on Thames

Safari may be, but not Kruger standards !

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly, we must say that overall this stay was quite disappointing. Although we received a warm welcome, the ranger was very economical with information and did not actually keep us informed of where we were going, or what to look out for (except maybe once)... We spent most of the drives 3 hrs, speeding along brain rattling roads to get to a site where we might see game. We did however see rhino, elephant, cheetah, jackal and lions so feel bad about complaining but feel the experience could be made much better with a little more effort from our ranger Alvin. In other game parks the ranger socializes over coffee before the drive, to include you in the excitement and may even have dinner with you - not here for sure! The other issue we had was that upon return of our final morning drive, way b4 checkout we arrived in our room to find the maid service having changed the bed and all the towels for the next guests- no shower then!
4 out of 5
by Lesley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels