Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK WV6

Best Western Desert Villa Inn

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Ticket system for breakfast, really?
Location: Just off interstate
Reasonably priced Clean rooms Nice breakfast, but a ticket system, really? Quiet location when i was there
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our mission at Best Western Desert Villa Inn is to offer every guest a great experience at a fair rate, and we love knowing that you left satisfied with your stay. From our convenient, quiet location to our clean rooms, we strive to provide a welcoming home away from home. We are also happy that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast options and appreciate the feedback you shared about the ticket system. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this and will discuss our options internally to ensure our service is as efficient and hassle-free as can be. Thanks again for choosing us, and please come back when you can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close the Freeway and Train Tracks

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff.
Cons: The bed was uncomfortable and the toilet in the bathroom was very small.
Location: The location is close to the freeway.
This BW property did not live up to the experiences that we have had at other Inns by this company. The location is close to a train track and the freeway. The noises from both interfere with your rest, which was made even more frustrating by an uncomfortable bed. The facility is a little dated as well, as the bathroom toilets are the size you would find in a elementary school. On the positive side, the staff is friendly and the breakfast was similar to other BW Inns we have stayed in, which is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Barstow, California. It was such a pleasure to host you, and we are very sorry that your expectations were not met during your visit. While we offer all guests complimentary earplugs due to the periodic noise from the neighboring trains, we apologize that you were disrupted by the sounds. We are also disappointed that you did not love our beds and decor. In order to begin updating our property, we are in the process of redoing the exterior and hope to have a chance to share the finished product with you down the road. Thank you for offering your valued feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shreveport, LA

Great value, clean and comfortable rooms.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We stopped here on a long road trip out of CA. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, Starbuck's etc. Our room had a fridge and a little sofa, which was nice. Very friendly and helpful staff at front desk. Definitely would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, We're so pleased we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to rest during your road trip. It's wonderful that our location worked so well for you and that you found your room the ideal place to recharge. The next time your adventures bring you to the area, we look forward to seeing you at the Best Western Desert Villa Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location off freeway

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Typical motel, ok room and bed, but staff is outstanding! They could not have been more friendly responsive and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our staff takes pride in offering all our guests amazing service and will be pleased to hear you valued their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're also pleased our location was ideal for your trip. It would be a pleasure to see you again the next time your travels bring you to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Needed a last min room checked in after s long day the staff was really nice my room was really clean and the breakfast was AMAZING!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're happy that we could provide you with the accommodations you needed after a long day. It sounds like you were able to get rested and energized in a clean, comfortable room and get ready to own the next day with our delicious breakfast! Reviews like yours are heartwarming for our whole team. Should your travels bring you back to the area, visit us again at the Best Western Desert Villa Inn!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Front desk staff was incompetent

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Good free breakfast
Cons: Better trained front desk staff
The two people who checked us in told us that our Expedia reservation was cancelled. That was a surprise because we did not and never received notification from Expedia about a cancellation. Since we needed a room, we paid again for the rooms even though I had already paid Expedia when I made the reservation. One person was relatively new to the job and the apparent "lead" at the front desk never found the active reservation that I had made and paid for. This was confirmed by Expedia when I called them to determine why my reservation was cancelled and to ask for a refund. Expedia was very helpful and my refund was processed on the spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stan, Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies in the miscommunication that occurred with our front desk team. We will review the situation and evaluate the process and steps to prevent this from happening again. It is great to hear that despite the issue, you were able to enjoy your stay with us including the complimentary breakfast. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the service we are known for the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
They're very accommodating after a 1200 mile ride on my motorcycle. Plan to return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star feedback and for choosing Best Western Desert Villa Inn! We are glad we could provide you with a restful haven during your motorcycle travels. It sounds like you had a wonderful adventure. We are honored that we could be a part of your travels. Come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilroy

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Rooms were spacious and very clean. We arrived late and we're ready for bed. We were pleasantly surprised to find we were upgraded to a large room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Reuben, Thank you for taking a moment to share what you loved about your stay with us at Best Western Desert Villa Inn. We're delighted that you found your upgraded room spacious and clean, as nothing is more important to us than the comfort of our guests. We appreciate your positive and encouraging compliments, and we would love to host you the next time your travels bring you this way.
5 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Robert

Nice hotel in Barstow.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
One of the guests had there dog on the breakfast table while we were eating. I could have accosted her myself, but the hotel should be the actor in this case.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Dear Robert, Based on your rating, we are happy to see you enjoyed your visit with us! However, we certainly apologize for the discomfort you experienced during breakfast. Our staff is always on hand to address issues such as these when brought to their attention. During your next visit with us, be sure to let us know if we can do anything to ensure your stay is even better than the last, including addressing other guests. Thank you for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon!