Ratings based on 1,298 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Comfy bed poor water pressure

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The room was clean. The location was safe. Appearing to be updated they have tried to keep up with the times. Bed was ok. Not the best mattress as I like mine soft but it was ok. Breakfast was fine. Lots of carbs and sugar offered. But I ate some eggs and sausage. It was good. Coffee needs larger cups as the 6 oz size is small. Overall it was a good night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel if your passing through

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The pool!
Location: Calico Ghost town
Only spent the one night here with my family after we had spent the day visiting Calico. Has everything you need for a budget hotel. Pool was a hit with the kids :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved our stay in the California Inn!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable and retro feel along Route 66
We had a balcony view over the beautiful mountains and the swimming pool. There are some cool statues surrounding the poolside area. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. We will recommend to our friends and we would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
It is ok, but bed is hard, Staff is very friendly,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On Route66

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel was not real clean. Breakfast was the best part. Furniture in room had seen a, lot of abuse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lost wages nevada

Barstow is a scary place..

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Had to spend the night there to meet my girlfriend to see her she lives in Long Beach we thought we meet halfway and go to Calico Ghost Town and maybe check out the Railroad Museum Barstow is a pretty scary place a lot of homeless people and looks like a lot of drug use the commercial area is pretty run-down and are very few restaurants other than fast food chains for people stopping off the I-15 on their way to Vegas or LA why don't they do something with this place well if you got to stay here this hotel isn't bad but I recommend not staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millersview, Tx

Great value!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Price point verses amenities.
Location: Good pizza and beer across the street!
Good value, friendly staff, decent cont breakfst, safe and monitored parking. I felt I got my moneys worth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. George Utah

Too many negative issues

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The pool area was okay and the breakfast provided was adequate.
Cons: Updated rooms and working equipment.
There were too many items in room not in working condition. The air conditioner shut off in the middle of the night; a maintenance fellow supposedly fixed upon calling about it, but 10 min. after he left it was off again for the remainder of night. Thus, room was very stuffy and no window to open. The coffee pot and the hair dryer were also not working properly. The room was clean, but old carpet, stained furniture and strange location/angle of toilet in bathroom. I did enjoy the pool, but had to use the two small bath towels from bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Good sleep at a good price

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I enjoyed the king size bed, cool air conditioning, and quiet night's sleep. The price was fine for this level of comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Good overvight spot

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The internet was excellent and the TV was a good DirecTV lineup, including HBO
Cons: For an overnight option, it was fine.
Location: Didn't stay, just had dinner at IHOP next door. Good food
The hotel has been refurbished and even though it's an older facility, the updates were very well done