Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

my experiencia

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Todo expensive for the kind of service and the food experience was bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

I WOULD NEVER GO BACK

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Pools, beach, beach and pool chairs and umbrellas, landscape and good rooms.
Cons: Read above and take it from there.
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Excellent location not far from Cartagena.
GOOD: The beach, the pools, the gardens, the fresh salads and fruits and the rooms. BAD: Cheap food, fruit juice sweetened with sugar or watered down, no butter, desserts I would not give to my enemy, each day they ran out of chocolate and vanilla ice cream for the kids, so they would not have to give so much ice cream away (totally cheap owners), weak coffee even though we were in Colombia, horrible wine, not even a standard bar with quality liquors, rip off internet service, overworked staff who are primarily black, one towel per person and must exchange it at only one location, you are treated like cattle, dinner reservations in person between 7:30AM to 9AM, charge for the safety box in the room, totally outrageous charges for laundry service, when I made the reservation I asked for an early check in but they didn't bother to respond, we arrived at 12:30PM and had to pay a high price to have lunch even though we were leaving before breakfast on checkout day, the room was not ready at the 3:00PM check in time and they said they could have it ready anytime AFTER 3:00PM, they insisted I provide documentation of my paid reservation even though they had it and acknowledged having it and more.
3 out of 5
by Ignacio

Go if you are looking for quantity, not quality

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel infrastrucre is amazing, as well as its location and staff. However food and drinks quality could be signifcantly better. The specialty restaurants, for which you have to be at the front desk at 7am to get a number to come back at 8am to make a reservation, are not worth the pain of dealing with the reservation process: the Asian restaurant played arab music, sushi seemed old and only offered rolls, no sashimis or niguiris. Internet service is expensive 15 dollars per 12 hours. Timeshare sales ececutives are wating for you every morning at the buffet to harass you over their amazing vacation program, they will not stop until you get oretty upset. I enjoyed my stay but felt that 350 per night was overpriced for the quality of food and drinks and being targeted by salespeople everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buenos aires, argentina

A bit old nice hotel beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Food is very good at a la carte reataurant but you need to get reservation at 8 am, rooms are nice but old. Marine equipment very nice, i use on 4 person catamaran in internal lagoon, people at beah very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

For young adults.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
If you like to party and walk a ton of stairs then this is the place for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Terrible Hotel - DO NOT GO!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The staff did what they could when they realized we were checking out early because of dissatisfaction. The staff was friendly, simply not their fault
Cons: It cant. This hotel is ran by a very unorganized lower than standard organization.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby. Remote.
My husband and I were scheduled to stay at the Decameron Baru for two nights. We left early and wasted a single nights stay because the "resort" was so awful. The check in process was very unorganized. You had to wait in one line to get a number, then wait in another line to get your all inclusive badge, then wait in another line to get your room keys. It took about an hour long to do so. The rooms were dirty and uncomfortable and when we checked in our room had no power. We were told we could not have dinner in the restaurant because we didn't have a reservation. In order to make a reservation you had to be in the lobby at 8:00am to wait in line to get a number. You then had to wait again for your number to be called to then make the reservation. Ridiculous, it was like a stationary cruise ship. When we got to the beach it was smaller than pictured. They did a very good job of photoshopping the photographs for their website as the beach and water look NOTHING like what is pictured. When we go to the buffet dinner it was an Italian theme. Why on earth would I want to eat Italian food when we are in Colombia? The food was not edible. It was disgusting and worse than cafeteria grade. The pools also do not stay open past 8:00pm. How is that possible for an all inclusive resort? Needless to stay we stayed the one night and checked out early the next morning. I would NEVER recommend staying at this hotel. It takes an hour to get to and that is the only thing there. It was gross
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst resort I have been in!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The pools were nice. The staff at the restaurant were very pleasant.
Cons: The hotel needs to be updated in every aspect!!
Location: The location is nice but not the hotel itself.
The hotel is outdated. Room was dirty. There is no fridge available. The safe deposit box and internet are extra. The food at the buffet is very bland!!. Tables are dirty. The bottles of water left in the room were warm. The "all inclusive drinks" were very poor quality and were warm as well. Also, there were sales people all over the resort trying to sell you vacation packages. Very annoying!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

parts of property under renovation

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Have at least some staff who speak English well
Location: Very remote area little to do but rest which is good
Parts of property were under renovation (noisy) Quality of food sometimes poor Staff do no speak English This resort is for Latin American market Overpriced 30% for US market
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
We chose this hotel because we wanted to visit Baru and I think it's the only hotel in the area. We enjoyed the buffets and warm water with pretty fish. They also have huge beautiful infinity pools and quite a few bars, easily accesible at any point in the day. All inclusive makes it convenient. I will say it is quite a ride from airport and it isn't the cleanest. Cleanliness factor is OK, but definitely room was not meticulous (dirty table) and the room needed some touch ups (like rusted toilet at the bottom, chipped paint in places, some mold in the shower). Overall cleanliness wasn't a "deal breaker" but in honesty needs a little attention. The grounds outside the room were very well taken care of - trimmed landscaping, clean main area, clean pools etc. Also they have huge iguanas around the property, really enjoyed that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good as a getaway destination. Relaxing, and they usually put up something to have fun. Far away from everything else, and the food can get a little more variety.