Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

good value for money in Basalt

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, well maintained older facility, great price.
Spent two days in Basalt. Arrived late. Key waiting for me after office closed as promised. Facilities older but well maintained. You can hear the Frying Pan River with the windows open, and downtown Basalt is, well, you're in the middle of it, 50 yards from Main St.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The motel is very convenient to historic downtown Basalt, restaurants and shops. Our group walked to them all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overkill on cleaning products

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Good location. That's about it.
Cons: See review re cleaning products used. Also could use some updating.
Location: Close to lots of restaurants, etc. in Basalt.
There are multiple buildings at this hotel. Ours was older and faced the parking lot, and had the old hotel feel with an overwhelming use of cleaning products. The smell from these cleaning products was so strong that we left the door wide open in the afternoon when we checked in, and we left all the windows open while we were gone all evening/night to air out our room so we would be able to tolerate it to sleep. That meant keeping valuables in our car. The smell from these cleaning products was so overpowering in the stairwell that I developed a headache from it and held my breath walking through the stairs each time. This same smell was prominent in the hotel lobby when we checked in. Otherwise, the hotel was adequate, but the cleaning products alone will keep me from coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay anytime!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice, clean older motel close to downtown & excellent food. Love the closeness to the river. Very clean & well kept up
4 out of 5
by Lee

River view was great!

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
It was very nice place to stay, older motel but very clean we up graded to river view that was great, we wood stay at this motel again!!!
5 out of 5
by Erik

Great hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
They accommodated a late arrival and early checkout. Mattress was fine quality and supportive.
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Quiet, clean, beautiful location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. My daughter is extra sensitive to sound but was not disturbed at all! I loved waking up with the rushing river surrounded by trees. The location is so beautiful and peaceful. So I took the continental breakfast to a bench or picnic table by the river every morning. Getting a riverside room was worth it! Also,within walking distance to historic part of Basalt and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Motel in the middle of a parking lot

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Nothing like I was expecting. The river in the pics was on the other side of a resteruant. We had a view of a parking lot out the front and an old trailer house roof out the back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durango co

Oddly disjointed hotel in several pieces

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Location: In the middle of a parking lot with a noisy bar across from it
Our room was across from a noisy bar, not next to a babbling stream
4 out of 5
by Allen

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Aspenalt has separate buildings. The first 3 days we stayed in Building B that faced a parking lot with no view. They kindly moved us to Building A after we asked and the view was much better with the lawn and river. Lobby personel was not very welcoming on the day we did our check-in, but during the week they were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Housekeeping was wonderful and did a great job keeping the rooms clean. Overall it was a nice place to stay, especially in Building A.