Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dollr uk

excellent location in terms of proximity to city c

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Cons: new carpets in some places
meals excellent staff very helpful very close to all city centre attractions and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire UK

Good located hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Cons: We thought the shower in our room a little tricky, quite slippy and a large step, when wet, out of the shower. Bathmat should be standard.
Location: Close to the market place, good for street food. Near to the river.
Very pleasant hotel close in the old town, very clean, very helpful staff. Good to get the travel pass with the hotel booking, very useful. Breakfast excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by cb, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you so much for your nice review. We like! Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Nobody meeting us when we arrived at the hotel. So we had to carry our large luggage by ourselves. But overall good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by cb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are not a 5* Hotel and do not offer lugguage service regulary. If you need some assistance with lugguage just ask at reception next time. Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very comfortable hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Despite some difficulties in getting our car to the hotel, our stay here was very comfortable. Even that problem was taken care of quickly by the staff who came to help us negotiate with the traffic wardens to gain access to the pedestrian zone. The room was spotless and the breakfast was superb! We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline Thank you so much for your nice review. We like! Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Centrally locatrd
Unfortunately construction impeded the tram to connect directly with the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes, there is construction works going on in the city and no trams will come directly to our tram stop. That will be finished on september 30,2017. Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Excellent hotel with great shower

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, great staff, and very clean!
Cons: Really can't think of anything that needed improvement!
Location: Excellent location to sightseeing, shopping, and restaurants. Lovely outdoor restaurant area and excellent food!
Wonderful experience with this hotel. Excellent service. Clean room, great shower, and no problems with room temperature in August. Third floor was NOT hot and our air system worked well. Close to sightseeing, shopping, and restaurants, but the hotel restaurant was excellent, as well! Also close to river cruise ports. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy Thank you so much for your nice review. That will help us and future guests a lot. Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Nice but has a few drawbacks with the room. Toilet separate from bath and very small. Bed too soft and pillar at the end of bed. Room was a great size with TV/sitting area separate from bed area. Good size closet. Good location for walking around attractions. Short cab from train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mary Thank you for your rating. Sorry that you did not like your room. It is the only room in that shape. Ask for another room next time. Best regards Your HOtel Basel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida and Colorado

Our stay at the Hotel Basel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Excellent hotel located in the heart of old Basel, near the river. First class service, very good staff. The room was well appointed and first class in every way. Located near very good restaurants, shopping and some of the finest museums in Switzerland. And a bargain!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dan & Maci Thank you for your nice review. We like! Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

River Cruise Prep

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location: Very easy to take trains 2 blocks away for seeing sights in the city. Also taking the train to where we boarded for our river cruise.
Quite easy to use public transportation from train station to Basel Hotel. Room was very comfortable and staff very helpful in directing us around the city. Breakfast at hotel was excellent. Would definitely recommend and book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Time Travelers Thank you for your wonderful review. We like! Best regards Your Hotel Basel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent rooms, great location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Really nice rooms. One of the best we've had, with comfortable beds and a really good layout with glass walls for the bathroom / bedroom link. Close to the Rathaus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Your Hotel Basel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew Thank you so much for your nice comments and your rating. We like! Best regards