Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Ewa from Denmark

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
I will never return to this hotel - it is simply too primitive - toilets and bathrooms not in the room outside in the corridor, no TV in the room, no hair dryer, no minibar, even no handsoap, no elevator.But nice neibourhood and good restaurant outside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

All good bu very very noisy

Posted Apr 5, 2012
Pros: Free internet free travel pass and great location
Cons: Very noisy
Location: Brilliant
The hotel location is great - beautiful by the river and in the centre of town ... the hotel is basic and clean and very friendly and good value. However, there is a restaurant and bar/club underneath he hotel and it was very very noisy when i was there. After mentioning this to the hotel manager I was moved rooms, which helped. You also get free internet and a free travel pass around the city. I enjoyed my stay, I just wish I'd been put in a different room to start with.
1 out of 5
by Frank from Las Vegas

What a dump

Posted Dec 6, 2011
Location: If I stayed in Basel again, I would stay near the main train station. The hotels in that area are nice or better, and everything is very conveniently located. Additionally, the information center at the train station, which we consulted several times, is very helpful, and the tram system from that area is fabulous and free to hotel guests. Basel is a lovely city, and if I returned I would use the trams to visit every part of the city to get a real feel for the place.
This place is, without a doubt, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in some bad ones. The advertised shuttle and the advertised free breakfast did not exist. When we arrived, there was no one at reception. We rang the bell provided three times over the course of ten minutes before someone finally showed up. When he got there, he was befuddled and seemed unable to find our reservation. We never saw anyone again, not a guest and not a hotel employee, except upon departure. We rang and rang and finally someone arrived and took our key. We are fortunate our stay was just one day. I am going to find the guidebook or the post on Expedia which recommended this place highly. What an introduction to Switzerland!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Would use the Hecht Am Rhein again

Posted Sep 11, 2010
Very pleasant stay, excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Good location - cheap and cheerful.

Posted Aug 23, 2010
Excellent, central location. Room was pretty basic but clean enough with a nice view of the Rhine. The proprietor seems gruff but was actually very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive

Posted Jul 20, 2010
Nice, big room Shared bathroom Very clean Very convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Cheap for Swiss standards

Posted Sep 9, 2009
Bathrooms and showers are not in the room, building is very old so is the furniture. The only good thing about this hotel is it's location, close to everything in Basel. If you open the windows, noise won't let you sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Basic hotel but great location.

Posted Sep 4, 2009
So the negatives first: Overall the hotel was quite dirty and rundown. However I knew when I booked not to expect first class comfort! The room had a filthy sofa in it but the beds and bedding were clean. There is a communial shower, but as we went into our room we saw a couple run in there in towels, I'll leave the rest to your imagination! which put us off using the shower afterwards! It was a little noisey at night due to the restaurant downstairs but we did have the windows open as it was a hot night. I also had a bit of concern when checking in as first they could not find our booking, then no confirmation that we'd actually paid for the room but it was sorted out in the end. Now to the positives: Its in a great location, in the middle of town on the river bank. We had a lovely view of the river from our room but you might want to specifically ask for a room on that side of the hotel if you want this. It was really easy to get around and they do give you a free travel pass for public transport for the whole of your stay. I'd recommend picking up a tram map as you can get everywhere you want to go by tram. They were quite helpful in that they allowed us to stow our luggage there on the last day after checking out as we werent flying home until the evening. Overall I would stay there again for a short trip (we were there one night) but if your going to be in Basel for a week or so I personally would pay a little extra elsewhere for improved comfort and a private bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great spot

Posted May 20, 2009
Very accommodating, but don't expect a private bathroom or shower.