Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This did not feel like a four star hotel. The views were excellent but the room was small and the not really as good as many three star hotels I have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Stunning views of the river

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: central
Booked the room for an American guest who was visiting, the hotel is very pleasant and the view of the river made his day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Fab views of the river

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Location is central, very accessible for public transport, Line 6 stop in Rheingasse is literally 50 metres away.
The hotel is in the centre of Basel and if you are staying in one of the rooms facing the river the view is just spectacular, I chose the hotel for a short business visit and I was pleased with the room facilities, also the staff was very welcoming and they have spare convertors if you like me find out that the European ones do not work in Switzerland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Business trip - useful to stay in a central location in pleasant surroundings
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Merian am Rhein

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
This was a business trip. The hotel was a good price, in the centre of Basel. Ideal really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Wonderful, quaint old hotel on river. Great location but beware that there is no air conditioning. We found the fans in the morning after we suffered a bit during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Hotel is right on the the Rhine River, we had a balcony room overlooking the river. Beautiful location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Nice Hotel, No A/C

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was in a great location on the Rhine with pricy restaurants and bars all around. Lots of shopping nearby. We did not realize when booking that the room did not have air conditioning, which made it very uncomfortable in the August heat. Will stay again when outdoor tempatures are cooler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the Rhine

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Location: close to old town, café, site seeing
Small yet comfortable, no AC, great view, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Great location, excellent staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel is perfect for seeing Basel. Well located right on Middle Bridge near many tram lines. Very helpful multilingual staff. Big, clean room.