Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First class

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable and ideally situated. Hotel staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JP

Nice view from river side room

Posted May 24, 2017
I was pretty pleased to get an upgrade of my room from city side to river side. It has a very nice view so I was able to get relaxed and enjoyed entire days at the hotel. Breakfast is also very nice with nice atmosphere and a wide variety of foods in particular cheese. I certanily come to stay here if I have a chance to visit Basel.
5 out of 5
by Peter P

Great little hotel in the right place

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, rooms are a little small but adequate. Staff were really friendly and spoke good English. We received a free travel pass, which was very useful. Location was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County,CA

Nice hotel with beautiful view

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: THE VIEW ON THE CANAL SIDE
Cons: Work to make the hotel more convenient to non German tourists this would be helpful and useful for the hotel.
Location: Really good location, close to everything you want to see in Basel.
Like I said beautiful view if you are on the canal side. But, the staff and hotel seem to cater to German visitors as they speak OK English but nothing is geared to getting Americans to stay. The Papers are all german only and the TV has one BBC channel in English and all others are in German. The Food in the restaurant is really good and really expensive. The buffet in the morning is adequate and again geared toward the German tourist. All of Basel and Switzerland is expensive and water for 6 dollars and capucino for 8 dollars as well 28 dollar hamburgers and fries are just examples. I had a 52 dollar steak in the hotel restaurant, as it was the only non foodie item available, and it was outstanding all most worth the price. The towels in the room for your bath were pretty worn but usable, definitely not 4 or 5 star. The rooms do not have A/C or heat controls and lighting in the rooms is poor. The rooms are spacious by European standards. The windows overlooking a spectacular view of the canal and town do not have screens so shut them in the evening or its walls with lots of nats all over.
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rob

Th every nice hotel on the river

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good location-quick easy registration-clean room, good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This did not feel like a four star hotel. The views were excellent but the room was small and the not really as good as many three star hotels I have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Stunning views of the river

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: central
Booked the room for an American guest who was visiting, the hotel is very pleasant and the view of the river made his day.