Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL USA

Great location & nice, comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: The buffet breakfast should either cost less or be improved...location is convenient however.
Location: Great location and within reasonable walk from everything important in Basel. The transport card is a nice benefit, used it twice.
Overall, this hotel right on the Rhine and short walk from famous Marktplatz (city hall) was very good. Single room very satisfactory, nicely appointed, comfortable bed, nice bathroom--good value. The buffet breakfast at 25 CHF was not a good value--food was OK, but not at price. Convenient for first day following travel; found better value at a nice place 1 block from hotel attached to a dept store, named Spettacolo where I had a lovely omelette in croissant panini with coffee at approx 10 CHF. Nicely, hotel mini-bar has orange juice at no extra charge, same for waters. I recommend hotel, but go out for breakfast if you can. Also, included transport card is a great benefit; used it twice and could have used more but elected to walk to nearby Christmas Markets and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel next to river

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Good location with riverside walk, plenty of shops and restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Stayed at this hotel three times in the early 2000’s. It has changed ownership and has gone downhill. Pathetic stall shower with curtain enclosure. Noisy at night. No 110 outlets. Old cheap modern looking furnishings. Thank goodness we only spent one night. I will never stay there again or recommend anyone else does. There are many wonderful hotels in Basel - this is not one of them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Awful costumer service!!!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: internet...
Management team is rude and don't really care or look after the costumers! Contact the manager at the hotel a few times and she was rude and really unfriendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Lovely view from hotel window

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The view overlooking the Rhine, and the proximity to public transport, the bustling old town, and all the facilities around.
Location: Museums, theatres, cafes, central train station, etc. all within walking distance or via public transport.
We had a beautiful view overlooking the Rhine from our hotel room window. The hotel was excellently located and the staff were very helpful. They even gave us a tram/bus pass throughout our six days' stay there, which we think was a nice gesture. We were very impressed with the traffic free city centre in Basel apart from the trams, buses, taxis and tradesmen's. We had, indeed, a really lovely time staying in the hotel and Basel.
3 out of 5
by Janet

Hotel of 2 sides, good Rhine and poor street side

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
If you get a room on the street side (as opposed to the Rhine side) prepare to suffer from noise from bars down the street in the evening and trams (very early in the morning). Maybe you can hear the trams on the Rhine side of the hotel but I imagine that the view would make this annoyance less irritating. Overpriced for rooms on the street side, but maybe this is the standard price in Basel. I would not go back.
5 out of 5
by Marc

Very nice

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
would stay again
3 out of 5
by Maryia

Would not recommend it for a good night's sleep!

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
lovely location, friendly and helpful staff, secure parking garage - which is quite a bonus given the downtown location. Small rooms without A/C - a nightmare on a hot night. There was a really noisy wedding party going on downstairs during our stay so we had to keep the windows open given the heat - which meant no sleep. I think the hotels should warn guests in advance about functions going on so there is an option to cancel. Mattress and pillows really uncomfortable too.
2 out of 5
by Peter

Hope you like it hot - Rooms are stifling!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is just ok but be warned, the rooms on the upper floors are much to hot, to the point of waking up in the night sweaty. No air conditioning other than a useless fan which pushes the hot air around the room. Not possible to open the window as 'City View' rooms overlook a busy street where loading and unloading operations take place from 6am! (on the point the city view rooms look directly at buildings opposite! no view at all!) Reception staff were amicable but the entire hotel feels dated. The lift also takes forever to arrive. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
by Nathalie

Great overall hotel but no AC in rooms

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Overall great hotel, great service, but note that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms. I stayed there during quite hot and thunderstormy weather and, despite the hotel providing a fan, the temperature in the room was very uncomfortable. My room was overlooking a busy street so opening tye windows didn't help either. Would definitely stay there again but probably avoid it in the summer months.