Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
good hotel good service good location good ambience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Value for money

Posted Jun 28, 2017
All good: staff is friendly, Internet is ok, price is very reasonable for Basel, half-pension saves you a lot of money. The only thing I don't like is no AC in rooms - I literally got fried, it's too hot...
5 out of 5
by Michael

A very pleasant surprise.

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Trepidation on arrival: small rooms, close together, on a busy street and a budget price: I expected little sleep. In fact the rooms, though tiny, were well equipped, the hotel was quiet, good restaurant and breakfast, wifi good, helpful staff and free travel pass (including airport connection) with trams just on the corner of the street. Basle is a beautiful, but expensive, place. An excellent stopover and a very good hotel for the money.
1 out of 5
by N

Appalling service from hotel Rheinfelderhof

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
BEWARE....this hotel is very bad, filthy dirty, beds does not get made up unless chased, the young lady receptionist very rude and inexperienced. Was assigned a room next to an old racist lady who created a scene that my TV is loud. I came in at 11 pm and went to bed at 01:00hrs but she said I kept her awake. Told owner he did NOT care and shrugged his shoulder when I told him I won't be bullied and zero tolerance to racism. Restaurant staff very rude and will not even listen and asking for a cuppucino is too much for them. I complained about the restaurant staff and had no replies back. They charged me for bottled water when it was free from Hotel.com. Bedsheets not changed fresh. TV is restricted to volume yet I was told it was loud when I told the owner he said he does not care. I told him are you racist as well...he kept quiet. Invoice with proper bills were never given except one since their printer never works. They say they will email but never to. I paid very high price due to bookings and holidays in basel but received very bad service indeed. Owner need training and staff as well on customer service. Don't stay their....I certainly will not be booking their again. All they care is about money with filfthy rooms, service very bad, attitudes too racist.
5 out of 5
by George

regular visitor

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly service and the tram stop is outside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CATALONIA

THIS HOTEL IS WELL SITUATED

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: IT SATIFIES OUR NEEDS
Cons: AN EXTRA CHAIR AND BETTER TV COVERAGE
Location: NEAR MOST ATTRACTIONS IN BASEL BY PUBLIC TRANSPORT
WELL SITUATED AND NEAR ALL PUBLIC TRANSPORT.FREE TRANSPORT PASSES GIVEN TO GUESTS.QUIET CLEAN AND NO FUSS.THE STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.THE RESTAURANT ATTACHED TO THE HOTEL IS EXCELLENT.PRICES ARE REASONABLE BOTH IN HOTEL AND RESTAURANT.WE STAY HERE WHENEVER VISITING FAMILY IN BASEL.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel,rooms very small but very clean and had everything you need except no kettle for tea/coffee Friendly staff, the girl at check in with glasses was very helpful and friendly Would stay here again if I came to basel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel Close to Public Transportation

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night to go see a game at St. Jakob's park. Tram was less than 1 minute away. Area for the hotel is great. Hotel itself is clean, the room was small but the bathroom was big and refurbished.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Partly renovated, comfortable, older style hotel,

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Room was renovated & spacious. Sliding bathroom door didn't shut completely- 4cm gap. No tea or coffee in room. Restaurant on site. Breakfast very expensive, but bakeries & supermarket very close. Tram outside hotel, but quiet at night. Short walk across bridge to Old Town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
In a small above the kitchen very noisy and got our stay wrong and very expensive there was meant to a double bed with the room l booked but there was two separate beds instead l wouldn't recommend that hotel to anybody