Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to University Hospital

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: I was attending meetings at University Hospital and the hotel was a 1-2 minute walk form the hospital.
Cons: Not much. The hotel is quite minimal but I knew that in advance of booking. My first requirement is always cleanliness and it was clean.
Location: Excellent location. Close to river and lots of restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping nearby
This is a minimalistic hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. Rooms are small and the shower is a small corner unit with a pull around shower curtain. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is available but no other food services are available in the hotel and as such you need to go out for food and beverages. There is not a bar. Having said that, the hotel is close to the river and the older downtown areas including bars, restaurants, cafes etc. It literally is a pleasant 1-10 minute walk and within this radius there are numerous amenities. The hotel staff were excellent and helpful with any and all questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Comfortable, clean and close

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Most hotels in Basel are crazy expensive, but not this hotel. We had a room in the new section which was spacious, clean and well priced. Lobby area attractive, staff lovely and helpful, and located perfectly for oldtown and tram access. Downside: no hotel parking but there are parking spaces outside to drop your luggage and then go park your car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John P.

Good Value in a Great Location

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Orbitz
A mixed bag, but a great price for the area. First, the good stuff: Old town Basel is amazing, and this hotel is just two and a half blocks from the center...or less, if you don't mind walking one block of very steep stairs. There is public transportation a block away that connects with the main SBB train station. And the room was huge, and clean, with big windows and great wifi. Now the drawbacks: we had to drag our bags through the dining room, up a flight of stairs, and back outside in the cold, before reaching an elevator to our room. The bed had one of those ikea style futon mattresses, which I find not very comfortable. And BIG SURPRISE...the church bells go off full blast right next door at 7am!!! you would think the staff would have warned us so we could have worn ear plugs, but they didn't say a word. The staff was pleasant but generally clueless, so don't rely on much help there. And worst of all, as we were leaving, the front desk girl told us breakfast was included with our stay...so we set down our bags and sat down to have a quick bite before catching the tram. Then, in the middle of eating, the dining room guy tells us the meal is NOT included, and that we have to pay 15 Swiss francs EACH. So almost $30 for my wife and I to eat some yogurt and a croissant in their austere self-serve dining buffet. Almost a third the price of the room! We were furious, and this almost ruined our stay. The hotel price and location is great, and we'd stay there again, but PLEASE LEARN FROM OUR MISTAKES, as we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2015
Great location, easy transport options nearby. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Great insulation from outside noise, but no insulation from the guests next door and on other levels. Throughout the hotel, the floors creaked very loudly. Terrible bed linen and pillow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
good location, very clean and nice, close to the mayor attraction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by James

Great hotel this, dont look further!

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on HotelClub
Nothing that we didnt like - excellent stay. Good location, amazing hotel staff and a really nice comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Quiet and convenient

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Found hotel on line. One of few choices available during Basel Fair time and it turned out to be within reasonably pleasant walk or tram ride to the Messe. The reasons for not giving a 5 rating were: staff efficient but not overly friendly; no toiletries except for liquid soap/shampoo; bathroom a bit cramped. Nothing major and I would stay there again without hesitation. I was grateful to find it at a difficult time AND at a reasonable price compared to other possibilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South HAve

Lovely, clean & quiet

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We spent 2 nights there. It was very clean & quiet with comfortable beds. These requirements are important to us. We found it easily accessible to public transit, the Rhine and old town is a reasonable walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Basel Downtown

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Clean, comfortable hotel with helpful staff. All Basel attractions are in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Super Traveller1234

Great Hotel!!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Ebookers
I would highly recommend this gem of a place. Perfect location, very clean and friendly staff. 5 star experience for a 3 star price.